We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food and Atmosphere around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Capri

Villa Capri
Ranked #13 of 162 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Villa Capri carries on a tradition of authentic, homemade Italian specialties known to its neighboorhod. Owner and chef Vinnie Scolaro offers a full menu for lunch and dinner, preparing all of his meals with fresh ingredients from scratch. From seafood to eggplant to pasta to his famous sauce, there is something for everyone. The large dining room is perfect for family gatherings, holidays, and special occassions, with party options like family-style dining and buffets available. Guests enjoy live music on many weekends throughout the year, a complimentary glass of wine or bottle of beer, and the option to bring your own! Our two dining rooms accommodate 125 people; be sure to make reservations if you are planning to visit on the weekend. Parking is available in our lot and the building is wheelchair accessible.
Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best Food and Atmosphere around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Best Place around to eat! Atmosphere is excellent ! A must for anyone looking for great Italian food with a wonderful staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa_A04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    16
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
“First visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was our first dining experience at Villa Capri. On a Friday night, we were pleasantly greeted with Lisa as our server. The atmosphere was great. The food was absolutely delicious with very generous portions. My husbands lasagna was fantastic and the largest piece I ever saw served in a restaurant. I had the chicken parmagiana on a bed of spaghetti with the most amazingly tasty sauce. The portion was so large that I ate it for lunch two days in a row. Our daughter ordered the chicken fettuccine Alfredo that lasted for a few meals also. The wedding soup and tortellini soup was full of flavor. My husband and I were offered a complimentary glass of wine with our entree. For dessert, the chocolate cake with peanut butter icing was by far the best cake I ever ate. The coconut cream pie was also delicious. For the amount of food we received, which included soup or salad and butter-garlic dinner rolls, our bill was so affordable. I would highly recommend eating at this restaurant if you want to enjoy an incredible meal. We will definitely make Villa Capri one of our "go to" restaurants. Three very satisfied customers!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tisha1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Italian restaurants in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Villa Capri had the best Italian food I've ever tasted. The manager Lisa came to our table and personally assured we were being taken care of. The entire staff was extremely polite, courteous, and professional. I highly recommend that if you haven't dined here, you're missing out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OEFvetkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best food in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Authentic Italian plates. Authentic Italian atmosphere. Amazing Alfredo sauce!!! Worth the drive from state college if you're looking to enjoy an incredible meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kliti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BYO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I have been here several times. We love the fact that you can bring your own alcohol to have with your meal. We enjoy the atmosphere and find the chef, Vincenzo to be an authentic part of the Villa Capri experience. Every time we've been there he's come to talk with us and the rest of the customers as well, to make sure everything was as it should be.
We will be going back for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markperehinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Capri also viewed

 

Been to Villa Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing