We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new facility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Altoona
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
333 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice new facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent one night here. The rooms were large and the bathroom had a nice vanity in it, so plenty of room in there. The breakfast was standard for a morning buffet at a hotel, but there was a large selection. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our large rooms. We feel that having lots of room helps our guests feel at home when staying with us. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    83
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
194
59
11
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darragh, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

A great place to stay in the Altoona area! There isn't much around, but that's okay because the front desk gave us menus and recommeded a great pizza place! The hotel is new and all furniture and amenities are new. The continental breakfast had a wide variety of food and beverages...we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate that you mentioned our staff helping you with options for meals. We are proud to offer suggestions for area restaurants and in fact we have menus for many of the local dining establishments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked this hotel one year in advance in anticipation of our daughter's graduation in University Park. It was about 1/2 an hour drive from the hotel to State College. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable & it was a very quiet area. The only reason I didn't give it a 5* rating is that you couldn't walk any where for dinner. There was a nice breakfast included in the price of your stay.

Room Tip: we were in 320. It was close to the elevator, we heard talking afew times, but it didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junebug724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear that you are one of our Penn State families! We have made many friends with both Alumni and family members of Penn State. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband I stayed at this Hotel on Friday night and found it to be quite pleasant! We attended a meeting at the Blair Convention Center. The hotel location was only a 10 minute drive to Convention Center but it was out of the way enough that there was not a lot of traffic and noise. The staff at check in were quite friendly. The breakfast area was well stocked and very clean. We will definately return to this hotel for our future conferences and highly recommend it to others! The only minor issue we had were the "tiny" pillows. Although there were four (or more) for our King size bed, they were too small for my sleeping comfort.....I would have preferred a king size pillow for our King size bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 139debras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with our hotel. I am happy that you mentioned how close we are to the Convention Center. We are within 10 minutes from almost all of the prime destinations in Altoona. I am also glad that you enjoyed how quiet our location is while also being easily accessible to I-99. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently stayed here for one night. We were very impressed with the room which was nicely decorated, fresh, clean and appeared almost brand new.

There is a small separate sitting area and a bedroom with comfortable beds. Mini fridge and microwave are included as well as a Keuring coffee maker which is a nice touch!

I took off one star for the lack of breakfast options. Very basic continental.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Altoona area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSmithTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for describing your guest room. We feel that our rooms provide a very comfortable atmosphere for both families and business travelers. I also appreciate your suggestions for improving breakfast. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the total guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our hot button is cleanliness. This facility exceeded our requirements. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel like we were long time friends. We needed this because the trip was because of a death in the family. The staff's actions helped to lessen the load. We are very greatful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
I am sorry that your stay with us was not for a happier occasion, but I am happy that our staff helped you to feel as though you were surrounded by friends. I am also pleased that you found our hotel to be clean. I hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

My stay with Comfort Suites was unexpected due to an online booking arrangement with a nearby Comfort Inn, but the change was certainly worth the extra ten miles traveled. The staff was very welcoming and the hotel was so clean that I thought it was newly opened. Surprisingly, the manager shared that they have been open for three years. The breakfast area was clean, and well stocked. The breakfast attendants were friendly and even offered to take my trash when I was finished. My room was spacious, very clean (including the bathroom), and tidy. I would certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thanks for writing a review of your recent stay. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and the staff to be helpful. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#3 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#7 of 14 in Altoona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
8.1 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#8 of 14 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Property: Comfort Suites Altoona
Address: 140 Stroehman Dr, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit #39, Altoona, PA 16601-9422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel located off of I-99 at Exit# 39. All of our rooms are equipped with either 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds, a Microwave, Fridge, K-Cup Keurig Machine, and a Pull-Out Sofa Bed. We offer free WIFI and a Complimentary Hot Breakfast for all of our guests. We have 2 meeting spaces available, a heated indoor pool, and a 24 hour fitness center. Group Rates and Package deals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing