We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay...”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here for one night on a weekend. This hotel is pretty convenient to I-99. I’ve stayed at the Holiday Inn in Altoona before and the Courtyard is definitely located in a better area of the city. In all, the quality is what you would expect of a Courtyard hotel. I purchased the room through Priceline and the gentleman checking me in mentioned this in a bit of a condescending way. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Each room had a small patio with a (working) sliding glass door which was a nice touch. We had the buffet breakfast in the dining room which was just OK – again, no better or worse than what you would expect. Our server was very friendly and attentive. No video/in-room checkout option was available, but checkout at the desk was quick and easy. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embraer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This property is located on the edge of town, away from the noise. Plenty of shopping and food options right around the block. The staff was so friendly and the location is very quiet, no noise issues at all. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I would recommend this place to anyone! My husband and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend 2010, we were going to Penns Caves and wanted to stay somewhere "NICE" in the area because it was our one year anniversary. The first jacuzzi suite smelled of smoke (and it IS an NON smoking hotel) we complained right away, brought management and housekeeping into the room, and they immediately apologized and set us up in another jacuzzi suite room. It was clean, comfortable, and on the lobby floor...so we had NO STEPS or elevator to go on, it was near the pool and laundry. The staff was VERY FRIENDLY to us, and we were very VERY happy with our stay. I try to get a room at this hotel when we are in the ALTOONA area, but to get a jacuzzi suite for just one night, it is HARD to get. We just go elsewhere when we are in the area that has jacuzzi's in the room. We will be back....sometime again, but don't know when. I would go back FOR SURE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacuzziqueen666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My husband and I flew in from Texas to visit our Son and his family in Altoona. We got a room on the 4th floor with a view. Make sure you ask for one!. The balcony is little but enough room for 2 chairs and a little table. Weather was great! Nice can cool. Great view at Night! Room was very nice and clean. I had to work a little while I was there and the free internet connection was great. Had a nice desk. Nice 32in TV. Nice sofa to watch TV at night. The sofa did have a pull out bed if you need it for kiddos or if you are sharing with one other adult. King Bed was nice and cozy. Other reviews did mention has the bathroom sink was out side the shower and toilet but that didn't bother us. It reminded me of my first house back in the 1979. Hee.hee.. We did use the indoor pool and jacuzzi - very very clean. Plenty of Towels for you to use. The exercize room was very nice and clean also. The hotel offer 2 newspapers everyday for free nice touch. Free Coffee in the lobby. In the evenings there were always plenty of folks enjoying the TV and the bar. They have little mini snack shop where you can buy snacks another other items to eat. This hotel does NOT provide free continental breakfast. So we always just went out to eat at local eateries....for breakfast. I can't say enough good things. The only bad thing was .......I left my travel laptop bag in the room. I noticed it was not in my backpack when I was at the airport. I call the hotel and they said that housekeeping did not turn in any black bag. I know I left it there. Luckliy it was just the bag with a file folder in it. Oh Well. Mark-See-Move On. This will be our go to place each time we travel back to Altoona. We travel to Altoona about 3 times a year.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor with a view of the hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyAnn88, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thanks Dpal for writing about you and your husband’s experience with us while visiting your son. I am glad you had an enjoyable visit with nice weather and you avoided the storms! Our team works hard to help you feel right at home, from free newspapers to extra towels, and I will be sharing all of your comments. I am sorry that we were unable to locate your missing laptop bag and I will check with the front desk to see if it has been returned. Thank you again for your review and for posting pictures of your room! I look forward to seeing you and your husband again, when you visit your son.

Yours truly,
Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I were there to attend her employee appreciation dinner 2/12/11 at convention center next door. The room was booked weeks in advance, reservation promised a 3:00PM check in, got to Altoona earlier in the day and toured around Altoona . Then we went to the hotel at 3:45PM and was told the room was NOT ready and we had to wait at least an hour. The dinner began at 5:00PM, which we could not prepare for because we didn't get our room until 5:35PM. So neither of us could relax, shower, press a shirt or slacks to be fresh for the event. So we put nice clean clothes over a days perspiration and we went over to the dinner, when we got there the company president is addressing the empoyees while my wife and I are milling about the seated crowd of 500 people. What an embarassment, and all the Courtyard desk staff could say when we complained is "I understand", talk is cheap and one thing travellers should understand is if you are needing a room in Altoona, PA to attend an event that has a timetable DON'T STAY HERE you might be late and possibly BO!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasputin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

yes, you are in Altoona, but away from all of the traffic...very nice mountain view with a patio.. something you don't usually get unless you're at a beach... heard the spring birds in the morning... they say Barn Swallows nest nearby..
Hotel staff was very courteous. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable... I just don't like that the sink area is away from the toilet...
Breakfast was offered, but we slept late instead.. many restaurants nearby..
went to the famous U.S. Hotel for Valentine's dinner.. just a few minutes away in Hollidaysburg, off of Route 36...
We came here last year for a quick get away...will return next year

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanaiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyAnn88, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Dear Nanaiscool,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your patio view of the area! There are many beautiful sites, and I look forward to see you again.

Truly yours,
Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Both the management and staff at this hotel are so friendly and customer service oriented that it feels like you are staying at a home not a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSZ26003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
463 reviews
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Altoona
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: £74 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing