We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed there when we were at a Pennstate game. It was a great stay even with a small child
It offers super clean rooms, very kind staff and great breakfast. We were greated with a very warm welcome.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Nadine K,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience at Courtyard Altoona. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while attending a Penn State game. I'm delighted to hear that our clean accommodations and warm hospitality made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    79
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
82
33
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I think I just had higher expectations than this hotel could deliver. They say the rooms were renovated 1 year ago but our room was pretty run down. The pictures, bedding and wall paper are new, but the furniture and AC unit seemed very beat up and the carpet was filthy. There was just a lot of wear in general. The front desk staff (especially Dawn) could not have been nicer or more helpful, and the lobby is really well appointed. Just wish the rooms were in better condition. Perhaps all of the options in Altoona are like this. I have not stayed in another alternative recently to compare.

Room Tip: Odd ending rooms have a nicer view of the mountains. Even ending rooms face the parking lot. The car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
BeachLvrs,
We appreciate you sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Altoona. We sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short in exceeding your expectations. We appreciate your feedback on these areas, and we will take your valuable comments into consideration for improving our property and overall guest experience. I’ll be certain to pass along your compliments to our staff on their excellence in service, and I’ll recognize Dawn with a special commendation. We hope to have an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you in the near future and provide a more positive experience. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very clean, one of a few better hotels in Altoona. I really was surprised with the mattress, no backaches.The room and bathroom are standard nothing special.The lobby had plenty of room for guests and was inviting for conversation or playing games. And it does have a wine bar and sells Starbucks coffee.

Room Tip: 4th Floor is usually the quiet floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moderngirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Litagator2,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us at Courtyard Altoona. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from 2800 mile motorcycle trip to Robins Gap, NC. Check in was fast and easy. Room was clean, nicely laid out. Beds were comfortable. Front desk staff recommended a local steak house and even gave us 10% off card. Also advised us to not park our bikes under the front entrance since local police were by earlier and might ticket or tow since we were in fire lane. Breakfast not included as some other hotel/motel chains but that is not a deal breaker. I stayed at Comfort Suites last year and though Courtyard is rated lower, I liked Courtyard better. Much nicer lobby, breakfast, sitting area and rooms are roomier, cleaner and modern.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the valley gives a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronegro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
toronegro63,
We’re happy to hear from you! Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us at Courtyard Altoona. It’s wonderful to receive your kind comments about our clean and comfortable accommodations. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while on your motorcycle trip and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Check in was fine, hotel looked nice inside and out. My room was reasonably well appointed (flat screen TV, full cable.) Bathroom was basic, with the basin located outside.

So why only 2 stars? There was one problem which totally skeeved me out: The AC unit. First, it's ancient. However, when I entered the room, the grill was off the unit and after I saw the filthy filter and debris, I was too freaked out to turn it on. Thankfully, the weather was cool in the evening and the window slid open.

Admittedly, if the grill were on the AC I probably have been oblivious to the issue. But I didn't remove it; how did Housekeeping not notice this?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillygwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Phillygwm,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your accommodations was not met with our excellence in service. I will be certain to discuss this review with our housekeeping and maintenance staff inorder to make improvements and heighten our awareness of such issues. We value you as our guest, and hope to have you stay with us again. Thanks again for writing a review.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The room was O.k. The sheets smelled a bit. I was charged a 20$ incidental fee on my Debit card, which i wasn't happy about to begin with, but I was assured it would be refunded immediately at checkout. It was not. I called a few days later and was told it would take 3-5 business days to refund. It did not. I called 7 days later, and was told it takes 7-10 business days for it to be refunded. Still waiting.

The desk in the room had a drawer that was broken, the charge for food/drinks/breakfast, etc. was through the roof, and not even worth it. There was water all over the floor in the elevator area and around the Lobby from I'm guessing people dripping dry after getting out of the pool.

The air-conditioner kicked on and off randomly even after trying to turn it off manually. I would not recommend this hotel for the price paid.

Room Tip: Don't believe a word the staff says.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Eric C,
Thank you for writing a review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially in identifying ways we can improve our guest experience. I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. The $20 hold for incidentals should have been released after you checked out from our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly if this isn't the case, or if I can be of further assistance. Your feedback is important to us and provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Thank you again.

Thank you,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Loved this HOTEL....Very clean!!!!....Enjoyed the pool. The Hotel staff was great....especially Jamie. People write negative things about Hotels unfairly... Had a wonderful 2 day stay......Complementary coffee and newspapers in the mornings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
robin m,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you loved our great hotel and wonderful staff at Courtyard Altoona. I’m delighted to know that our clean hotel, excellent service, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. I’ll be certain to pass along your complimentary feedback to our team and will recognize Jamie with a special commendation for providing such outstanding service. Please plan on visiting us again soon at Courtyard Altoona. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
775 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Property: Courtyard Altoona
Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing