We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff is always so welcoming after my 5 hour drive to Altoona. It's a nice relaxing place to spend a night. Great pool area.
The fitness is very bare bones but if u need cardio it's available.
Little piece if heaven to have Starbucks in the lobby

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Elizabeth B,

Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority; I glad you enjoyed our welcoming associates and relaxing hotel. Reflections like yours allow us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Katie Milward, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Well, the hotel had a lot of rough edges; it was hard to find in the dark because the entrance road was very poorly lit. We arrived and got our key and went upstairs to our room - imagine our surprise when we opened the door to find another person in it. Imagine her surprise! For some reason they saw fit to give us the key card to an already-occupied room. Which means they might do it to you. In 'compensation' they gave us an 'electronic coupon' for a breakfast (without coffee - very cheap and chintzy) the next morning, which was really adding insult to injury. I won't stay there again because I would prefer to be safe. Other than the staff's poor attitude towards security the physical building was acceptable.

Room Tip: Lock your hotel door and put on the chain thingy, you never know who the staff will invite to share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngloAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear AngloAm,

My sincerest apologies for your disappointing experience during your recent visit to Courtyard Altoona; this is certainly not up to our standards. I’m sorry for the mistake our associates made, but I assure you that guest safety is our top priority. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Your feedback assists us in our mission to continuously improve guest satisfaction. We value your business and hope you will return for another visit in the future.

Sincerely,
Katie Milward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our room lost power at around 11pm during our stay. No lights, no air conditioning, no television, no computers. They refused to move us to a functioning room so we just gave up and slept in the dark.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm sorry to hear of the frustration you experienced; Due to a large storm in the area there was an area power outage. As you can imagine it affected the hotel's ability to provide power and air conditioning. This was an extraordinary circumstance. Additionally I am disappointed to here we did not respond with an appropriate apology. Please forgive us. I understand your frustration and I hope that we get another chance to deliver an exceptional stay. My contact information is below so please contact me prior to your next visit and I will personally oversee your accommodations.
Best,
Katie Millward, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The courtyard marriott was a gem to find. It was a newer hotel. Clean, rooms were clean, and a very convenient place to Del Grosso Park and horseshoe curve. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. By the way. This hotel sells Del Grosso park tickets at a discount. Great for families



Stayed: June 2014
Thank G650traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear G650traveler,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Altoona. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.
Best,
Katie Millward, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Decent hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the decor in the lobby. The room was pretty standard....no special features, but it was absolutely fine for 1 night. The room was extremely clean and quiet, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Britt314,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Altoona. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while on business, and we’re glad you enjoyed your visits. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our clean hotel, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Best,
Katie Millward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Courtyard Altoona is a very good, typical Courtyard by Marriott. Nice, updated lobby with a small restaurant for meals (and a mini Starbucks and a small bar). Rooms, bathrooms are comfortable and clean. Good location if just passing thru (as we were) or if staying a while. Any outside restaurants will require a car to get to. Probably very busy when there is a convention next door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dave E,
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Courtyard while passing through Altoona. We appreciate you staying with us and are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will return so that we can host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a nice hotel. After a long day, it was a very relaxing place to call home for the evening. My room was the quietest room I have ever had. The bed was comfortable and I had plenty pillows. However, there were a few glitches:

1. WiFi didn't work. Guest services said it was a known issue that night and I needed to call tech support. That resolved the problem for about an hour, at which point I lost the connection again. Never did get it back. The device works fine now, so it wasn't me.

2. Breakfast. When I checked in, the desk clerk said the bistro was open until whenever that night and then told me the hours for breakfast. Whenever a desk clerk has told me the hours for breakfast in the past, whatever the motel/hotel chain, it has been understood that this was complimentary breakfast. Naturally, I was surprised to find out the next morning that, no, it was not part of my room rate. The person taking my order told me he gets this a lot. By contrast, other lesser priced hotels in the same town do offer a free breakfast (admittedly, it is usually not much, but all I need is a doughnut and some orange juice to get going).

Would I stay there again? Probably. That said, for Sunday night in a town like Altoona, $139 is a bit overpriced. I am just glad someone else was paying for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Sonderweg,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to know you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding wiFi service and breakfast. All guests comments assist in our mission to continuously improve our guest experience and we thank you again for writing. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
844 reviews
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Altoona
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: £75 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing