We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old folks' comfort food...but good for families and kids”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Eat'n Park Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 162 Restaurants in Altoona
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old folks' comfort food...but good for families and kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

As a senior-citizen family member says, "Eat'n Park is great because it's (1) cheap; (2) there's lot of it; and (3) it's breaded so that it fills you up." Eat'n Park is a Pittsburgh/Western Pennsylvania insitution. The salad bar is big and pretty good, the menu has a lot of stuff on it, and the Smiley cookies make the kids--and me--happy. Breakfast in the wee hours of the morning after an all-night drinking session is the way to go. Any other time, I'll refer you, dear reader, back to what old Paulie had to say about it above. (OK, I'm a little harsh. Stay clear of the meat loaf and get a burger and fries. You'll like it.) There is no way to dislike Eat'n Park. It's diner food, perhaps masquerading as something a little more, that being the casual dining experience of an Appleby's.

P.S.
I recently went to another Eat'n Park where we got to sample "experimental" items to see if they should be put on the menu. Let's just say Eat'n Park needs to stick with the salad bar and breakfast and far away from frou-frou stuff like hummus. That was a disaster.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAF1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Has a wide variety of food. Friendly staff, and warm food. The enitre resturant could use a face lift and updating; ie carpet and entrance ease. Need a more booths would be a plus for privacy/

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucky_lucy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Favorite Breakfast Place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have been to "Eat 'n Park for lunch and dinner but I mostly go there for breakfast..sometimes it's with friends to catch up or with my Dad and sister...wonderful staff...good food..they have a breakfast buffet.then at lunch it becomes a salad bar (homemade chicken noodle soup..yummy)...casual atmosphere...staff remembers you and brings coffee before we even sit down...I order from the menu...some of my favorites are the waffles and homefries as part of the "Breakfast Smiles" which are a good value and my coffee cup is always filled...my sister asked about something on the buffet that she liked and the server went back and the truck had just come in and she got the item off the truck and prepared it and gave a plate of it to my sister..for my Dad's birthday last September he was presented with their signature "Grilled Stickies" warm with ice cream free of charge..they have a bakery on site..my favorite is lemon meringue pie...nice place to just enjoy the morning !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I love this salad bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This restaurant has a great salad bar for breakfast or lunch or dinner. Need to turn up the temperature on the hot bar though should be steaming hot. Good food though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Repeat Visitor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Have been frequenting the Altoona Eat 'N Park since it opened around '86. I always go on Fridays to get the baked cod and clam chowder on the soup and salad bar. The food is always fresh, always tastes the same, and is never anything but extremely hot. Tasty, All-American dining for a low price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat'n Park Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eat'n Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing