We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was fast and friendly, food was average, good overall value.”
Review of Texas Hot Dogs

Texas Hot Dogs
Ranked #5 of 164 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (814) 942-6381http://maps.google.com/maps?q=texas+hot+dogs,+altoona,+pa&hl=en&ll=40.516605,-78.401012&spn=0.040194,0.104628&sll=40.766292,-78.037954&sspn=0.010401,0.026157&hq=texas+hot+dogs,&hnear=Altoona,+Blair,+Pennsylvania&t=m&z=14&layer=c&cbll=40.516553,-78.401091&panoid=OskBwaCeqOuMuCsc10ji8w&cbp=12,343.42,,0,0
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service was fast and friendly, food was average, good overall value.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband, grandson and I visited Texas Hot Dogs this afternoon for a late lunch, about 4:00. We ordered the standard Texas Hot Dogs, and the grandson had a Steer Burger. We also shared a large order of fries and an order of fried mushrooms. The hot dogs were good, and the franks had a nice snap to them. My grandson devoured his burger very quickly and was happy with it. The fries were good, but the mushrooms were something I could have bought out of the freezer case at Wal-Mart. There were five mushrooms in the order for a cost of $1.99. We were pleased, but not blown away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Going to the dogs!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After we saw the reviews for this resturaunt, my wife and I just had to try it when we were in Altoona last week. We love chili dogs and this place did not disappoint us. Price was reasonable, staff was friendly. It was great for a quick easy lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donlee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best hotdog”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotdogs are just like when you were a kid, not fake turkey or beef the real mcCoy pork , soft bun and good chilli! Yummy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Excellent chilli cheese dogs! My brother loved the kraut dogs. We found this little place while visiting Altoona.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“There's a reason they've stayed in business so long”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I grew up in Altoona. I loved going for Texas Hot Dogs when I was a kid. As soon as I could take ride my bicycle on the road; I started riding there for my fix. Then when I could drive, it became a regular stopping place. Now when I go back, I make it a point to stop in for the usual... 2 dogs with chili, cheese, ketchup and onions. Good stuff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsky227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Texas Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing