We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome as always”
Review of Texas Hot Dogs

Texas Hot Dogs
Ranked #9 of 165 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: American
Description: Old fashioned diner orinally established in 1918. Downtown Altoona, PA. Known for its famous Chili Hot Dogs and Macaroni served smothered in Cheese and Chili Sauce. Family owned and operated by Members of the Lamont/George family for nearly 100 years. Stop in for the delicious draft Rootbeer. Prices are reasonable.
Restaurant details
Description: Old fashioned diner orinally established in 1918. Downtown Altoona, PA. Known for its famous Chili Hot Dogs and Macaroni served smothered in Cheese and Chili Sauce. Family owned and operated by Members of the Lamont/George family for nearly 100 years. Stop in for the delicious draft Rootbeer. Prices are reasonable.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome as always”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Great food at a great price along with a pleasant and friendly staff. They have a history in Altoona and never disappoint! Love this place!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diana0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

These hotdogs are just not good compared to local hotdog shops in other parts of the country. I would't waste my calories or my money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hot Dog Sauce in Pa”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What can we say the sauce is awesome. I have relatives that moved away. Ohio & Florida. When they come home to visit. We always go there first to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quick Good Food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stop and get a hot dog and then play a round of mini-golf. Prices are good and worth the stop. You can also get ice-cream and there's a place to sit outside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service was fast and friendly, food was average, good overall value.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband, grandson and I visited Texas Hot Dogs this afternoon for a late lunch, about 4:00. We ordered the standard Texas Hot Dogs, and the grandson had a Steer Burger. We also shared a large order of fries and an order of fried mushrooms. The hot dogs were good, and the franks had a nice snap to them. My grandson devoured his burger very quickly and was happy with it. The fries were good, but the mushrooms were something I could have bought out of the freezer case at Wal-Mart. There were five mushrooms in the order for a cost of $1.99. We were pleased, but not blown away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Texas Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing