We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“same as it was in the 70's”
Review of Texas Hot Dogs

Texas Hot Dogs
Ranked #9 of 166 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: American
Description: Old fashioned diner orinally established in 1918. Downtown Altoona, PA. Known for its famous Chili Hot Dogs and Macaroni served smothered in Cheese and Chili Sauce. Family owned and operated by Members of the Lamont/George family for nearly 100 years. Stop in for the delicious draft Rootbeer. Prices are reasonable.
Restaurant details
Description: Old fashioned diner orinally established in 1918. Downtown Altoona, PA. Known for its famous Chili Hot Dogs and Macaroni served smothered in Cheese and Chili Sauce. Family owned and operated by Members of the Lamont/George family for nearly 100 years. Stop in for the delicious draft Rootbeer. Prices are reasonable.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“same as it was in the 70's”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My first job was at Texas Hot Dogs and I am so happy to say that they still taste the same. The special sauce just makes the dogs and if you like hot dogs, you have to try them. My husband is a Yocco's fan (Allentown), but of course I think THD are better. The THD in downtown Altoona is definitely a throwback and you just have to go there to experience it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachMomDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stop in and get Texas Hot Dogs every time we visit Altoona. They are the best! And my husband has to get the hot cheese balls! Wish we had one in Lancaster.....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bunch1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Step back in time...”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Every time I go here with my wife or with my wife and grand kids, it's like stepping back in time. I love the old "retro" decor with the Lou Gehrig "Iron Man Batteries" poster, the longhorn horns on the wall, the big Hires Root beer barrel, the counter with built in stools, booths, and the like. I don't know what people expect when they come here - they sell hot dogs! We like them and will continue to go back time and time again. The dogs are good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markperehinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallitzin, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Texas hotdogs”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Texas hotdogs is a wonderful place to get hotdogs. They have cheeseburgers which are pretty good and they make one of the best peanut butter fudge in Altoona!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ns3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Matt.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Waitress and food was great. Very reasonable. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Come her all the time and never disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Texas Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing