We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tough steak”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #29 of 166 Restaurants in Altoona
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Villages
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tough steak”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Both my wife's and my steak were tough. I had a filet and I thought it was impossible for that cut of meat to be tough, but it was. Either they are buying the cheepest meat possible or I was not served what I ordered. My wife ordered the sirloin, very tough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    10
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The food is simply great. Especially the Alice Springs chicken and the pumpernickel bread. Sometimes seating can be a problem on Friday night.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank teeshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just "Average" Food and Service”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I ordered a lunch special of a half Filet Focaccia Sandwich and a cup of clam chowder my husband ordered a steak. They brought out a fresh baked mini bread loaf that was awesome. My soup was brought out at the same time. I wanted my soup to be served with my half sandwich so I made my best attempt at waiting. The server came by 2 or 3 times stating the our meals would be out soon but it was quite a long wait. My soup was cold when my sandwich arrived. The server should have asked when my order was taken if I wanted my soup brought out early or with my half sandwich.

The chowder was tasty but extremely peppery. I like spicy foods so I was okay with it but it might not be appropriate for everyone. The half sandwich was small and bland and not at all what I expected.

The restaurant was clean and pleasant. The staff was nice though the service was slow and additional training is recommended. Prices were average. Check the hours of operation before traveling because they don't serve lunches except weekends...we found this out after a long drive to get to Outback a while back. I was really disappointing that a large chain like this would have more accommodating schedule.

I won't likely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WRDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little steak great taste”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I had the 6 ounce outback steak with rice and veggie medley and it was very tasty and reasonably priced. They need to get some craft beers. They best beer they had was Sam Adams winter lager.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollidaysburg, pa.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD & SERVICE!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is my favorite place for a delicious steak and you can't beat the $10.00 special. I go there quite often and love it. If you go ask for Amber Franko. She is the best waitress you'll ever have!!!! Truly a great place for food, drinks and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkybird1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing