We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This restaurant never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Campesino

El Campesino
Ranked #31 of 162 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This restaurant never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I found this restaurant by accident about two years ago. I have returned several times since, and I travel more than an hour to get there...and it is well worth the drive. The staff is very pleasant and attentive, the portions are huge, and the prices are very reasonable. It is a very clean restaurant, meals are served very quickly and everything is fresh and consistent. Try it...you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdr131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
444 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were staying at the HIE just down the street and had a taste for Mexican. We were not disappointed. From the free salsa and chips, to the delicious (and large) margaritas, to the fajitas platter for two (only $22) we were well sated and our taste buds satisfied. Amazing to see our waiter carry four large platters and two dinner plates to the table next to us. We considered this dinner entertainment. Many of the guests appeared to be from the area and given the great food, great service and very reasonable prices this is easy to understand.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value with free tortilla chips and salsa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

The owners moved into the former Uno's and it was a great move. Much nicer facility. They have the best chips and salsa (free). I enjoy their burritos and my wife loves their soup! They have a full bar with lots of beers on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My fave is Enchiladas Suizas. I enjoy the MILD salsa over the regular and request it upon being seated. My spouse prefers regular. Service there is always very good, as is the food. They are eager to please if anything isn't "just right". Portions are always ample. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, PA
Level Contributor
275 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Horrible Fajitas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Usually the "Camp" is much better, but on this visit wasn't very good. The cheese dip was tasteless and the beef fajita meat wasn't very good at all! Service was very good, the kitchen was off this day!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Campesino also viewed

 

Been to El Campesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing