We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Very accommodating and dog friendly”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had to come to Altoona right after Christmas for a funeral of a beloved relative. Because this was a last minute trip, we could not board our two dogs, and this hotel was more than accommodating to provide us with an executive king room for our short stay. The room was spacious for our two dog crates and comfortable for us as well. The staff was really friendly with our dogs and we felt more than welcome. The room was clean and both microwave and fridge were in excellent working order. The hotel had put water and snacks in the fridge. The complimentary coffee and breakfast were above average. The king bed and pillows gave us a good night's rest. Our dogs enjoyed their stay, and we will definitely consider going to this hotel again. We usually travel in our Class A RV but opted for a hotel on such short notice.

Room Tip: First floor room was perfect for having dogs with us, and we were in the back hall from the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    98
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
107
76
26
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We chose this hotel while traveling in a snow storm. We picked it from a list of dog friendly hotels found on a list on the smart phone. The room was standard fair and clean enough, Orkin had obviously been there evidenced by the trap behind the bedside table. The fee for a dog was $75 a night, the most expensive I have ever seen. Breakfast was included in the room fee, so after resting up in the morning from the drive in the storm we headed to breakfast at 9:15 only to find that they quit breakfast and clean it all up at 9:00. I don't know about anybody else but I think that is a little early for vacationing travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssm6698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Ssm6698,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I am back and forth to Altoona several times a year and have stayes at most of the lodging facilities in the area. The staff is great, the rooms are very clean and laid out well with furnishings that still leave a lot of space in the rooms, complementary snacks and water in the fridge. For price and quality I won't stay anywhere else when I need to travel to Altoona. Did I mention the staff if FANTASTIC? Relaxing wonderful stay! And they have a portable car charger for when your husband leaves the interior light on and kills your car battery.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evildogg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Forest, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We returned after a year....and once again feel it's one of the best properties of this chain in the USA. The front desk does NOT treat you as an interruption. They are pleasant , courteous and helpful. In the room, the ac/ heating units are most quiet. And, next morning, the breakfast was first rate. And lastly, very convenient to the Interstate. As MacArthur said, we shall return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had business to take care of, outside of Altoona, Pa and decided to spend the night at the Holiday Inn Express for a couple of nights. Upon checking in, the hotel staff at the check in desk was very nice and friendly. The room was not too big nor was it too small, it was just right. I did find it interesting that the bathroom sink was not inside the bathroom but on the left as you enter the room. Breakfast was surprisingly very good. They had eggs, sausage, pancakes, bagels, etc. and plenty of coffee. There is also a washer and dryer which you could use. Next to the washer and dryers are vending machines filled with sodas, water and juices. Everyone, including the cleaning staff was very friendly. Honestly, I did not expect much when I first checked in, but my stay was better than first anticipated. Across from and around the hotel are plenty of restaurants, shopping, etc.. In fact, you can walk easily to several restaurants and the small mall across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms are comfortable and clean. A little dated, but no big deal. Staff is friendly. Love the free breakfast! Stayed here twice. Fan wasn't working the last time, but didn't notify them until checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stopped in Altoona because it was the halfway point in our drive so I had to find a hotel. H.I. Express has always been reliable so in we went. This time was the same as always. Pleasant, warm and friendly clerk at check-in. Cookies and coffee at door. Clean well prepared room. Basic breakfast included. Close to stores and restaurants. It was impossible to find fault.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
1.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 3306 Pleasant Valley Blvd, Altoona, PA 16602 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at Quality Inn & Suites - Altoona, PA is designed so that you can relax. We know that all you really need is a place to be yourself. Contemporary hospitality and our friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Altoona Hotel Altoona
Holiday Inn Altoona
Altoona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing