We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Price Perfect Timing”
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Altoona
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My family travelled over the Canadian May long weekend and arrived about midnight in Altoona, and decided to stay for the night, our first choice Super 8 would not rent us a room because there were five in the group. So we made our way to Motel 6. This turned out to be an excellant move. The rate was approx $30.00 cheaper. My experiances with Motel 6 have always been the same. A clean comfortable bed, friendly staff (the girl on duty that night was very helpful) and basic no frills accomodation. For one night stays while travelling I highly recommend this chain. It is always a great combination of price and comfort. The parking lots are always well lit and the room is basic no frills accomodation for a great price, as a budget minded traveller this is what I am looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

Fast check-in with a very friendly clerk who went out of his way to be helpful. Room was comfortably sized, with the usual smallish motel bathroom. Amenities were all there, and the entire thing was scrupulously clean. Only drawback was that when I visited their internet was down, so there were no wi-fi rooms available.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0tL0stJustWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We travel often, and we usually stay far away from 6's. I have to say this hotel was very clean and comfortable. Staff was probably the best staff we have dealt with in a long while. It feels like a privately owned property not a national chain. TV stations were limited at best. No Disney Channel. Internet is NOT free and not availble in all rooms. We had to move rooms to get access as well as pay $3 a day for an access card per computer. Not too bad as it was still cheaper than any other place in town. No microwave or fridge which is a must have with our family. We stayed 3 days until we needed to move on. Very clean!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I always enjoy staying at Altoona Motel 6. The room was clean and shiny, linenes clean and dthe motel was very quiet for a Friday and Sturday night. No frills but it isn't a 4 star motel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dottielm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Location was perfect. Room was very clean. Staff was very friendly. No bells and whisltles, but why pay for something you will never use.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

checked in for only one night
friendly and helpful staff good coffee
clean rooms and pool
comfortable bed
well worth the price

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spundtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Reserved a room at this hotel because it was close to the train sites I was planning to see. The room was $20 cheaper then other motels in Altoona. The hotel staff were very friendly but that is all that's nicew about this motel. The room was clean with a king size bed, pillows were fluffly. there was no ice to be gotten-the only ice machine is in the office and there are 3 tiers of rooms. we had a room on the 3rd tier. We tried twice to get ice with none gotten- once when we got in and then 3 hrs later at 9:25PM. no ice at all. we tried the next morning- still no ice.went to gas station and got some each day.there are no tissues, clock or channel guide anywhere in the room. the bathroom faucets- trim is looose and hanging down exposing pipes.thwere is no microwave or frig in the rooms and cant get one. the drawers are warped-cant close them and opening them is hard-they stick. the pool was slimy, people who were in there prior to going in were filthy and turd were floating in it.never went in the pool after seeing that. take my advice and pay the extra money and go somewhere else. it is a very good location to stay with alot of variety of stores and eateries close by. it is a shame the place isnt properly taken care of.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank civilwarloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
813 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Address: 1500 Sterling St, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602-2828
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: £40 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing