We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Altoona
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Lancaster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Motel 6, worked for a one night stay defintly needs some updates and modernization. The lobby was the most modern out of everything on the property. The beds were comfortable, the room lacked amenties though no tissues, toliet seat cover, or alarm clock, tv had horrible sound( This wasn't a huge deal just rather strange for a chain hotel).

They just started to updated on October 14th, so lets hope that will help the apperance of their room. The location was easy to find, property was clean and quiet.

I wont stay here again, maybe when the remodeling and updating is complete.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank darlene120175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Altoona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Darlene,
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for your unpleasant stay. we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435. Please know that, as an economy brand, we keep our amenities limited in order to maintain our brand promise to offer a great value for the lowest price of any national chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    53
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
43
36
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Needed a place to stay overnight after the tremedous Penn State win over Michigan. Just about every hotel with 60 miles of State College was booked. There was one room left at this motel - we took it. We stayed here a few year's ago under a similiar sitiation so we knew what to expect. Like most say it's needs updating but it's clean, quiet and friendly. And for the price - it can't be beat. If there is one issue with it is that the toilet doen't have a cover. This is my pet peeve because it is so easy to drop something into the bowl if not carefull. Besides being a sanitary issue I just feel this practice is unnecessay especially when the bathroom is so tiny to begin with. Management should review this practice- put a seat cover on the commode please!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Heights, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Motel 6 in Altoona, PA is consistent with many others in the chain and adequate for a nights stay. The property is anything but fancy, providing no frills whatsoever. However, the rooms are large and, most importantly, clean.

Located just off of I-99, the property is well lit and easy to find in the dark. Unlike many others in the Motel 6 chain, this property is only one story tall. Since all units are ground level (spread out over three different buildings), accessing rooms is easy. Parking units are available directly in front of all rooms.

The rooms are comfortable and quite. They are in need of a serious make over and modernization, though.

There appear to be plenty of eateries in the area. The neighborhood gives the impression that it is relatively quiet. It is also located just a 2 or 3 minute drive from Peoples Natural Gas Field, home of the Altoona Curve baseball team and Lakemont Park, home of the world's oldest wooden roller coaster.

Worth noting is the Wi-Fi. There is a charge for it! I completed a survey after my stay and brought up this concern. Apparently this decision has come down from corporate. Also, make sure to pack your own shampoo as there is none provided.

I rated this property a 2 out of 5. Tripadvisor gives a 2 the rating of poor, which this property isn't. I would just categorize it as "slightly below average." With an upgrade of décor and amenities, this property would qualify as average for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

good nights rest for the price, no frills motel. Room was clean beds were comfy, all my we needed for an overnight get away. Looked and called around for other local hotels and were 20 bucks atleast more. the 1 hotel started running off the stuff or services they offer, said yeah but no thanks, ill go to motel 6, just need a place to sleep tonight with no extras for frills that's added just to sleep for the night.

Room Tip: make sure you take shampoo they didn't offer it, but did offer bar soap
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irwin, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Mighty pleasant staff, adequate room, small pool looked fine (but didn't use) - yes, needs remodeled, upgraded, some bruises, nicks & scrapes, 1st smell was kinda funky, but the price was right. TV could be bigger, but Would definitely use
again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbuttlacer1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for the first night of a road trip to the east coast. We were tired and just wanted a clean place to sleep and this was great. The person at the front desk was really nice and the room was very clean. Nothing special but that is to be expected for 67 bucks a night. No complaints. The person in the morning was also really nice and even the coffee was good. If you are looking for a clean place to sleep this place was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsauken, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Had a great experience at this Motel 6 this past weekend. Keep in mind - this is your budget friendly one star motel chain, there weren't any hair dryers or coffee makers in the room. Some people want a 4 star hotel but don't want to pay for it. Decor is plain and simple, and very basic. Wifi is an extra charge.

That being said, I was pleasantly suprised with the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. I was very tired, had been driving from Philadelphia, and I saw the Motel Six sign high above Route 99. It said "$43.99 per person". Of course, when you see a sign like this, when you actually get to the motel they either no longer offer the rate, the rate is only for Sunday through Thursday, or they sold out of that room that they offer for that price!

However - I called, and the front desk said yep, $43.99. That was a good sign. I was a lone female and I felt nice and safe in this room. There was no mold or cracked grout in the bathroom and the water pressure in the shower was strong and hot. The towels weren't super fluffy but were clean and newer looking, the sheets were crisp and fresh, and the TV worked. And there was HBO. That's basically all I needed for the night!

The hotel was in a nice central spot with a lot of eateries nearby, and what appeared to be a mall across the street. Overall, great experience and my pocketbook didn't cry out in agony either!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kramberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
799 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
419 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Property: Motel 6 Altoona
Address: 1500 Sterling St, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602-2828
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing