We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight”
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Altoona
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine for an overnight”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It is very convenient from I-99 and the price is right. As long as you are not expecting any in-room amenities, you won't be disappointed. My king room had a small table and two wooden chairs, so you are not going to be lounging around in the room. Room was in the front, so I didn't see and can't comment on the grounds and pool. Room was nice and quiet, though. Shower head almost comically low--you would have to be about 5'4" to actually stand under it. Towels very cheap; they reminded me of high school gym towels. Overall a good choice for a cheap crash.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bflohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    51
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
41
35
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

stayed here for one night when travelling from Niagara falls to Washington .the motel is right off the freeway and in a great location .there has obviously been a lot on money spent recently all the rooms have new furniture and painted .the whole motel and surrounding car park etc has been refurbished .the staff are all friendly and could not do enough for you .there are shops within a 2 minute drive from the motel . absolutely no complaints ..nice pool and free wifi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were in Altoona over the weekend for a wedding and needed a pet friendly place to stay. After reading reviews and checking out the other pet friendly hotels in the area we chose the Motel 6 and what a great choice it was. From the lobby, to the rooms, and to grounds ,which were be landscaped when we arrived, we could not have asked for more. The updates that have taken place are just amazing and I am so glad to hear that all Motels 6's are undergoing the same renovations as we travel with our dogs quite a bit.

We loved the new beds, the wall colors, and the none carpeted floors were an added plus, as were all of the non smoking rooms. We asked for a room away from the road and were placed in the back of the motel which was great. The area in the back of the motel has a hill behind it and a grassy section which made for a great area to take our dogs. We also loved that there were outside trash cans in each section, which allowed for easy bag disposal. I will make the suggestion of having a doggy bag dispenser, to encourage owners to clean up after their dogs, since someone felt it was okay to not clean up after their dog, which is not hotels faults.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The staff was as wonderful as our room, we really could not have asked for more. If you are traveling through the area and need a place to stay, I would recommend it for those with or without dogs, for the price you cannot beat it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We found ourselves needing a room in Altoona in December 2013. We had to visit a seriously ill friend over Christmas and who can find last minute pet care over Christmas? So we picked Motel 6 because we knew we would be able to bring our dogs along. We arrived on Christmas Day having found a great price on the net and expected an old motel. We were surprised to find that the motel had gone through a renovation and update completed a couple weeks before our arrival. The room with king sized bed was large enough to accommodate a bed of that size, a table and chairs, and still big enough that we were able to set up our collapsible dog crates for them to sleep in and have plenty of room. The bed was comfortable, it was spotlessly clean and had a good strong hot shower - which is what any of us want when on the road staying in a motel. The updating and renovating that's being done to Motel 6 across the country is a very smart redo for a pet friendly chain. Laminate floors that are easy to clean, no old carpeting! This particular motel has ground level floors and backs out onto a wooded hill - very helpful to walk your dogs to relieve themselves and garbage cans outside for cleanup. In a situation like ours, traveling with dogs, it was almost perfect. If there is any way we could convince Motel 6 to add even a small fenced in area for dogs outside, it would be perfect. The desk clerk - I'm sorry I don't know his name - a young looking guy with beard - was REALLY nice and helpful with anything we asked for re our stay and info on the area. We've stayed at Motel 6 before when traveling with our dogs and they've always worked well for us, but under these particular circumstances, visiting an ill friend last minute at Christmas, we were really grateful for how good their set up is for traveling with pets.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms at back are a great choice for travellers with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArdentPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were driving down south & crashed here over night. Had a great experience. Got it for a great price. Room was very clean w/updates fixtures. Very quiet. Comfortable bed. Clerk waived wifi fee for us. Laundry available. Morning coffee available; there is also a microwave if you need it. Would def stay again for a short visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmasc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was really skeptical about staying here. I called the other hotels; all booked.I have to admit I was nervous about it. I was very pleasantly surprised! The rooms were so clean. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was very clean. We asked for more towels and the clerk at the front desk could not have been more helpful. My only complaint was that the volume on the TV was a bit high and could not be adjusted.
Is it in a bucolic setting? No. But I knew that going in. I wasn't going to be there except to sleep, So all I asked for is a clean room.
With the cost at $49 per room, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Never, ever stayed in such a motel in this price range that comes close to comparison...
Room was unbelievably clean, spacious and well appointed.
Best 55 bucks I ever spent on a room.
(Room 321).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyaaron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Altoona
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
788 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
416 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Property: Motel 6 Altoona
Address: 1500 Sterling St, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602-2828
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing