We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not use this hotel”
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Altoona
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Altoona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“do not use this hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Reserved a room at this hotel because it was close to the train sites I was planning to see. The room was $20 cheaper then other motels in Altoona. The hotel staff were very friendly but that is all that's nicew about this motel. The room was clean with a king size bed, pillows were fluffly. there was no ice to be gotten-the only ice machine is in the office and there are 3 tiers of rooms. we had a room on the 3rd tier. We tried twice to get ice with none gotten- once when we got in and then 3 hrs later at 9:25PM. no ice at all. we tried the next morning- still no ice.went to gas station and got some each day.there are no tissues, clock or channel guide anywhere in the room. the bathroom faucets- trim is looose and hanging down exposing pipes.thwere is no microwave or frig in the rooms and cant get one. the drawers are warped-cant close them and opening them is hard-they stick. the pool was slimy, people who were in there prior to going in were filthy and turd were floating in it.never went in the pool after seeing that. take my advice and pay the extra money and go somewhere else. it is a very good location to stay with alot of variety of stores and eateries close by. it is a shame the place isnt properly taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civilwarloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    51
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
41
34
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North New England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We arrived at this property earlier than the check in time and our room was ready. This was a nice surprise. The desk staff was polite and friendly. Our room appeared clean. There was a slight musty odor but nothing that I found offensive enough to be turned off by it. The air conditioning worked well. The mattresses were very firm and because of this I found it uncomfortable. The pillows were thin. Rooms were small but adequate. Fixtures in the bathroom need repair as they were not secure. Water pressure was such that when using the shower, the faucet also ran at the same time. Tub drained slowly after a shower. The pool was small but clean and the children enjoyed their swim. As it was the 4th July there were several intoxicated revellers using fireworks in the parking lot until at least midnight not a good thing when you have children trying to sleep or you are trying to sleep yourself. This would not be an issue on any other day of the year except perhaps New Years. Wifi is available in select rooms for 2.99 per 24 hour period. Connection is sufficient for general surfing and email. Over all Motel 6 is a place to lay your head for a reasonable price. Don't expect anything more than a clean place to sleep for the night with friendly staff. If that is all you need this property is a value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

i travel up and down the east coast i stay at motels 6 everywhere, and i have to say that this is the best one yet, so clean, the best staff, really out of this world service, really good location walk to the mall, many plazas, minutes to amusement parks. motel 6 is off the charts good place to stay:)

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank courtneystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

After booking with Orbitz and travelling 700 miles to get to Altoona to watch Penn State play the next day in State College we arrive to find out that our reservation had been cancelled. They would have room for us that night, but the following night we were out of luck and would need to find somewhere else. Since Penn State is the big draw for hotels in Altoona (45 minutes away) there were no rooms at the inn, or any other for that matter. Our only alternative was to book a room in Harrisburg, PA for the following night. Harrisburg is twice the distance away and it was exhausting to drive 1.5 hours following an all day experience exploring the campus and town. Not to mention the Homecoming game in freezing conditions with freezing rain. Thank goodness the game started at 3:30, we made it to the hotel by 11:00. If it were a 7:30 or 8:00 game we would have been driving until 4:00 in the morning. The room we stayed in the night they had available was below average. Very old mattresses, not dirty, but certainly not clean room, staff was friendly, but also lied about how they were booked full that evening. It was very clear by the 4 cars in the parking lot that night and the following morning that they were not overbooked. They may not have been the following night either, but they were clear they would not allow us to stay. Horrible experience and will not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdog5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We spent one evening here on the way home from State College to Pittsburgh. The hotel is definitely outdated and smelled of smoke, despite being a non-smoking room. They also do not offer free wifi or breakfast (forgivable in a no-frills hotel like Motel 6) but I was surprised that the room did not have complimentary shampoo or a hair dryer. I guess for $60, you get what you pay for.

I would not recommend this hotel for anything other than a clean, cheap place to sleep for one night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We reserved 15 rooms for a business trip, one that we were under a strict budget for... I would have to say that for the cost of the room, it was a good value. But, it was run down and in some need of updates. I got to see some of the other rooms and they were in varying degrees of showing much wear and tear. Mine had an old wood "box" surronding the air conditioner that was ugly, but it worked. One of my coworkers air unit was so noisy that she had to shut it off to sleep. I didn't hear any noise, but some of the others said they heard road noise that kept them up. The very back row of rooms were "scary" to some of the lone females. I've never stayed in such a no-frills motel and I was glad I called to find out if they had hair dryers in the rooms, they don't. They don't supply any little shampoos either. 2 towels did the job, but if someone else shared the room with me, they would have had to use damp towels (cause I wouldn't have). The tub and shower were clean, but they were very small. There was also a cigarette stain on the rim of the tub where someone left it sitting while they used the toilet (I'm guessing). The sink area, also clean was really rundown and had old wood framing and yellowed ceiling light panels that were cracked. Kinda gave me the creeps. The desk staff was very, very nice. And the coffee was available and good enough to drink.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyaka03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We used this motel as a sleep stop off on the way to Myrtle Beach from Canada. It is fine for just needing a place to lay your head. We checked in around 9pm on July 23rd. The lady behind the desk was very friendly and helpful. I appreciated her great attitude!! :o)
Our room was clean and quiet. It did smell a bit musty, but we got over that.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasakeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
775 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Property: Motel 6 Altoona
Address: 1500 Sterling St, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602-2828
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing