We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Mountain, Family Fun in a Hidden Gem”
Review of Alpine Mountain

Alpine Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Analomink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ski recreation area, consisting of 120 acres with a vertical drop of 500 feet, offering 21 trails, 6 snowtubing chutes and a lighted half-pipe.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alpine Mountain, Family Fun in a Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Ok I lived in Tannersville PA for six years, my neighbor was Camelback and we didn't ski then, and we never heard of Alpine Mountain (about 8 miles away) so if you never heard of it I am not surprised.

We have skied it now for 10 years, both of my kids and my wife learned to ski there, great instructors and great staff, some of the nicest people I have met at any resort. A family oriented resort that will make you feel at home quickly and allow a family with wide ability levels to ski together and not get lost on a huge hill. All slopes end up at the base lodge, the slopes are decent length and they have a bit for everyone from skiers to boarders to tubers. In a typical day my son and I can get in 60 runs, a long wait at the lifts is 1-3 minutes! Truly I love this resort.

The only negatives are that the weather has not been kind to the ski industry which has resulted in fewer skiers, and the base lodge is very comfortable but needs some TLC (new owners this year so we are hoping for great things). Rentals are fast and easy with great technicians, a decent pro shop, and again great staff. They offer a café which is ok and very inexpensive, and a seating area with a BYOB policy (so don't be surprised to see people with tables of wine, cheese, wings, and other fair). If you love to ski and want to ski rather than wait in lift lines of 30-45 minutes (like at Camelback and Blue Mountain) then make this a choice, its far cheaper and you will have more fun with your family as well as meet some great people. I'll be on the slopes with mine so see you all there! A great gem that has yet to be discovered by most.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ROliver70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    7
    1
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for families and kids”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

No lines at lifts or rental = less hassle, more skiing, and happier kids and parents. Great for families, kids learning to ski or board or want to improve without crowds. Ideal bunny hill for little kids - they can do it themselves and you don't have to worry. Not for thrill seekers, so less attitude and aggressive skiers get in the way. Parking easy and close. New owner - they are trying - invested in some new rental equipment - give them a try!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pong80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poconos
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Might as well be in Kansas”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Years ago this was a very interesting alternative to the larger ski resorts, a place where you could take your kids and never have lift lines. The former owner ran it into the ground, but part of that had to do with the warm weather. I know the new group is trying but it may be a lost cause.

Helpful?
3 Thank rozfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresco, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great ski area to learn to ski”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I learned to ski at Alpine 23 years ago and now my daughter has learned to both ski and board here. Many of the other local ski areas can be more intimidating to beginners by there size. Alpine is small and has a beginner area that is not frightening to a beginner, especially children and others that go to learn with a predesposed fear. There are only 3 lifts and usually only 2 run unless it is a busy day. No high speed detachables or killer terain. Even the black diamond, expert, trails are what would be rated a moderate or blue square at other mountains. There is a small area of moguls for those who like a challenge but in all it is not challenging to the seasoned or advanced skier. A small terain park is also offered for boarders. Ticket prices are slightly less than other areas. The cafeteria is basic cafeteria food and over priced which is the norm in any ski area in the Poconos. If you want to get away from the crazy fast and agressive skiers found at other areas this is the place to go to just ride and have a day of leisure skiing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RichMickNREMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A little gem in the Poconos”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

About the same distance away from the Stroudsburg exit off Route 80 as Shawnee, Alpine is a great beginner ski resort and a nice change-of-pace from others in the vicinity. If you are looking to learn to ski, go here. Camelback has some similar easy trails, and itself is a good choice, but Alpine makes the entire experience easy. We got there 30 minutes after opening, and parked about 50ft away from the lodge's front door - this was on President's Weekend Sunday. The only way to get better access is to stay at a ski-in-ski-out facility. We never waited on a lift line, the snow quality was first rate, and the staff is friendly and attentive. Alpine is old-school - they have all the basics (restaurant, shop, lockers, rentals), no specialized trails or shops. No high-speed lifts but its small size and lack of crowds makes the lifts time-effective. We are intermediate skiers/boarders, and hit Alpine after energetic days at Camelback and Shawnee. Alpine let us simply enjoy the action, wasn't hard work, and had a couple spots that cranked up the intensity a bit. Great place for technique work. We still skied our legs off that day. Restaurant food was marginal. We will be back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpine Mountain also viewed

Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Alpine Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing