We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alexander Benjamin House
Ranked #1 of 1 Andreas B&B and Inns
Warrington, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Inn”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Hilary. Who gave us a little tour and took us to our room. We stayed in the Green room for two nights. The room was very nice, large bed and bathroom. The room was spotless however the cleanliness of the kitchenette, specifically the refrigerator was disguisting. It has not been cleaned for a very long time as it contained rotten or spoiled food. Also, we didn't mind since we're eco friendly, we were not told that are room would not be cleaned during our stay. Also, we found it odd that the rooms did not have cups or tissues. We had to hunt down cups in the kitchenette and ask for tissues. Breakfast was inconsistent. One day it was freshly cooked by Mark, who mentioned that he likes to serve folks and was very social asking if we needed help with plans and ensuring we had enough food. Hilary perfers a buffet. The buffet was good, however it was not maintained. We did not see her during our meal and some food ran out. Checking out was easy as we paid in full when we arrived. Also, be aware that the inn is on a major highway and down the road from a quarry, by 7am you would hear the trucks,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theabhouse, Owner at The Alexander Benjamin House, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
We appreciate your review, but let me clarify some of the following: We clean our kitchenette daily, and the house and refrigerator are professionally cleaned twice weekly. We do not throw any food out that our guests stock in the refrigerator until the weekend is over. If someone stored something unappealing, we would not have thrown it away until after the weekend, unless it was truly rotten. There was no such items in the refrigerator. Secondly, we do not clean our guest rooms while guests are in for a 1 or two night weekend stay. We always supply extra towels, etc. As for cups and tissues, all rooms are provided with Dixie cups and tissues. We do not stock highballs or wine glasses in any rooms because of insurance restrictions. You will have to walk to the kitchenette for those items, but the kitchenette is located within ten feet of our Green Room. Also, we ALWAYS provide ample food on our buffet, but unfortunately, it is not an "all you can eat buffet." We do serve our food at 8:45 a.m., and keep the buffet out until 9:30 a.m. and we do not continue to bring out food. We serve enough that each person can enjoy 3-4 eggs, 4 pieces of meat, 4 or more pancakes, etc., fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels, and more. I am sincerely sorry if this was not enough food for your group, but this is our policy. Also, our food is always freshly prepared,not just on the one day. Again, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Unfortunately we didn't get too much time to spend at this place. Overall we liked our short stay at this B&B Hotel. Mark the owner was very nice and friendly. He let me use his phone since there was no wireless service for my cell phone. Our room was very clean and cozy. Since we had to leave very early Mark let us use the kitchen. There was a coffee maker, instant cereal, fridge with some food in it. So I would recommend this place for people who would be passing through this area. Keep in mind there are not too many food spots around Andreas, PA. We found one food plaza but they closed early like by 9 PM on Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here as we were planning to do a biking/hiking/white water rafting weekend in nearby Jim Thorpe, PA. The guest house was about 20 minutes driving into Jim Thorpe, but we didn't mind as each day started with a morning drive through the quiet and rolling hills of the rural area. The inn itself is located on a main intersection of a very quiet country town. (One catch to this is that neither my Verizon nor my partners ATT smart phones had very good connections there, so making/getting calls was not easy; however, free WiFi is provided at the inn, so we were able to use that way to access our email, Facebook, and such).
The room was comfortable, clean, and very well priced. It had a quiet, quaint, cozy feeling. ...felt like I was staying at my grandma's house (only bigger). Mark, the owner, prepared/provided delicious breakfast including fresh fruit (which, unfortunately, only my partner took advantage of since 8:30 was just too early for me to get up when I'm on vacation--but that's my fault). There is also a small shared kitchen area, where guests can use refrigerator, sink, utensils, etc.
We wish the room we had booked (the lavender room) had had a bathtub/shower instead of just a shower, but otherwise, we were very happy with the room, the service and the value that we enjoyed on this stay.
In short, if you don't mind driving a little bit extra to and fro, then this is a very good value, especially for couples or mature adults who are not traveling with children and who prefer a relaxing, rustic, and more personal feel to where they stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett-n-Jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I wanted a quiet getaway as a birthday present for my boyfriend and the Alexander Benjamin did not disappoint! It is somewhat in the middle of nowhere, but Mark was full of recommendations for restaurants and other activities. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at "Curious Goods," a gem of a restaurant that we never would have found without Mark's help. Mark's homemade breakfast of french toast, sausage, juice, and coffee was delicious the next morning. He really struck the right balance between sitting with us/offering recommendations and leaving us on our own. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie198024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andreas
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
6.6 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Hill Home Forge
Hill Home Forge
#4 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander Benjamin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Benjamin House

Property: The Alexander Benjamin House
Address: 818 Lizard Creek Rd, Andreas, PA 18211-3076
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Andreas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Andreas
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing