We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always delicious their mushroom soup is great & their fried oysters as well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCloskey's Restaurant

McCloskey's Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Ardmore
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Steakhouse, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“always delicious their mushroom soup is great & their fried oysters as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

always love to go here their food is special their meat loaf, turkey platter, mushroom soup is fab. Always pleasant service owner is always there to assist.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good casual meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We walked in early on a Saturday night and were seated right away. Food was very good, service was fine and it was a very pleasant evening. Very good filet mignon and soft shell crabs (in season).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyQ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and nice ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went here for a coworker's birthday; the food was good, served quickly despite it being lunchtime, and reasonably priced. The only downside was my Caesar salad which was so drenched in dressing, the Romaine leaves needed wiping off. I do understand that Caesar comes dressed, and have eaten my share of it over the years, but this was a bit much.

Our server was lovely and attentive, and everyone else enjoyed their meals very much.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SacredOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
667 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I took a Saturday morning trip down the Lincoln Highway toward Philadelphia. We ended up stopping in Ardmore for lunch. When we arrived we were told to choose a table, which is always fine with me. The waitress was attentive, and responded to our needs. The tap list was good, but not great. I had the meatball sandwich and my wife had a salad with shrimp. The sandwich was good, and my wife really enjoyed the salad. A nice to stop, but nothing great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite local restaurant, actually - it IS my favorite restaurant! The food is excellent. The service is amazing. The crowd is lively, yet considerate and friendly. I like Paddy, Kim and Sean. Coming here is like visiting old friends. You know what to expect but each time you visit you wonder why it has taken you so long to return. This is the place I equate with "home". Beside the great people here the burgers are super, the Sheperd's Pie huge and tasty and I love the daily fish dinners, amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RAMJHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCloskey's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McCloskey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing