We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's really nice”
Review of Hopelands Gardens

Hopelands Gardens
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's really nice”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice walk through the gardens.

If you can, stay for a music session, it's a very pleasant experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stash59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    76
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very beautiful”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The place is really nice and green. It wasnt too hot or too cold and very peaceful as well. Great place to just go for a walk but I wish they had some animals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A Quiet Place to kick back, relax, and read a good book.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located close to downtown Hopelands Gardens is a serene, well maintained landscape that was once an old plantation. Visited here with a group on the Aiken Trolley Tour on a Thursday morning the first week of October. An informative guide gave us plenty of history about the estate which is a free public garden. We strolled around for a little more than a half hour on well tended walkways. We discovered a variety of spaces connected by a network of shaded paths under huge ancient oaks, deodar cedars, and magnolias. The serpentine brick wall that surrounds the entire Garden’s 14 acre property was pointed out to us while on the trolley. The walkways and brick borders frame the Garden’s statues, pools, and ponds. There were many beautiful views. The Aiken Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame and Museum is located here, however, the museum was not open when we were there. The Dollhouse Museum and a quaint Sears prefab kit cottage are other structures on the grounds. We were told that private events are held in the Gardens. We did not walk the labyrinth. I will return again just to sit and read for a couple of hours in this quiet place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigBoyWorldDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graniteville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always lovely.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've been going to Hopelands Gardens since I was a kid. Beautiful, scenic park. Great for a picnic, stroll with the dogs, and makes a lovely backdrop for photos. Very popular venue for weddings. The Christmas light display is magical every year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Must see, beautiful, peaceful, flowers, trees, lake. Read and learn and enjoy. FREE admittance.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

My favorite in the area. You can feel how much the former owner loved this land and you are blessed to share her vision. A surprise around each corner. Sit and absorb. Stroll and see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hopelands Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing