We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, friendly, very lively & an awesome breakfast !”
Review of Hotel Aiken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aiken
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Reviewed 1 September 2011

What a great find! A charming historic hotel in the heart of downtown. Very friendly staff, great location and such a great breakfast. We read the hotels website before we booked so we knew this was a lively place. We had so much fun at the hotel and enjoyed numerous eateries all within a stones throw from the hotel. the staff were fantastic and responded well to all our needs. For the money and the location we were ecstatic to find such a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyPhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

Welcome to the Twilight Zone....AKA Hotel Aiken. If its not haunted, it ought to be.

This place has some charm, but I am not sure what kind. It is very hard to rate because the overall experience was quite good - but this is NOT the Shanghai Hilton!

This is something from a time warp - from A to Z. It is an experience. I am not sure I would recommend it to anybody because if you are not in the mood for "very different", then you will surely not like it.

The staff and the nightlife totally make the place. The rooms are ancient - oddly appointed and, at a minimum, strange.

I am not sure if it was clean or not. It is 115 years old and that is how long it has been since they changed the carpet or painted. Yes, it is slowly caving in around itself. At a minimum, it could have probably been cleaner. Sometimes it is hard to tell the difference between old and worn out and just plain dirty. Other than the carpet, it was fairly clean. The carpet is UNBELIEVABLE.

On the other hand, the main bar, the outdoor tiki bar and the other new-age bar that is hidden were a blast. To find the hidden bar you have to cut through the breakfast area (dark at night), then go down a short dark hallway and Wala!...another bar! LOL!

There are some local restaurants that are equally strange, but quite good. You almost have to ask some locals where to eat. To stay here and then eat chain food would be a huge mistake. If you are going to experience Aiken via the Hotel Aiken - go ahead with the full immersion experience.

You are just a few blocks away from Prime Steakhouse (very good) and a 2 minute drive to Rosehill Estate Restaurant - which had a jazz band on the HUGE back patio. Totally, TOTALLY surreal....all of it.

I am not going telling anybody "You just have to stay here."....but for some odd reason, I really think I would do it again. In most cases I would blast this place in my review. Yes, it is VERY creepy...but somehow still OK.

This a is taste of old world Americana at a bargain price.... (the Hotel, not the food). If you want to go back in time while still having some lively nightlife, this is your ticket.

I recommend staying up late....perhaps to 2 AM. Then the whole place goes to sleep.

...but the Hotel never stops making strange creaks and popping noises. Ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveJames_in_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

we read the reviews and hoped for the best (since we needed to stay downtown). This hotel has character but that is no compliment. our room was very small, everything was old (not quaint). breakfast was passable. carpet was very worn. elevator was a pain. next time we won't mind a short drive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcheezem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

To be fair...it matters at this hotel as to which room you stay in. We thought being in the "old" historic building on the 3rd floor overlooking downtown would be neat, but instead it was horrible. The room was dusty, furniture in bad shape, hole in the ceiling, 50 yr old carpet, wallpaper in the bathroom pealing off and hung upside down, toilet handle repeatedly fell off, etc. THEN THE WORST...apparently this hotel b/c of its location is "party central" according to the Aiken Police when I called them to my room. Live bands start playing Thursday nights thru the weekends and our walls and floor vibrated with bass until 2am. Apparently, the hotel has a conflict of interest (hotel vs party pad) because they told me they could do nothing about the music being too loud in the lobby area on the 1st floor even though the hired the band. We were forced at 9pm to make a decision to stay or leave when the music began. The police would not enforce the noise ordinance and the hotel manager agreed to compensate us for our room and told us that we should've been told when we made reservations and checked in about the music. The manager also said it was advertised "all over their website". The website refers to the live music and describes the hotel as "lively"; not you will hear music until 2am in your room 2 floors up and across the other side of the hotel. Also, the hotel lobby doesn't look anything like the picture on the website; old furniture instead. The staff was nice, the manager offered the free room without any request for compensation, the rooms around the courtyard are better positioned away from the music and some of the rooms in the older building are nice according to my sister. It just all depends which one you stay in. MUST ASK TO SEE ROOM BEFORE CHECKING IN!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Having only bumped into Aiken on our way to Charleston from a vey dissapointing visit to Augusta {disgusta},we booked in initially for a quick one night stop before getting off early to Charleston,having checked into a very reasonable size room,which was very clean and substantial,having all that is needed,good size bed,clean bathroom,air con and Tv,we then made our way to the bar for a quick drink before dinner.Here we met the helpful barman Cope,and the walking encyclopedia of south carolina that is Tony!
For a couple of tourists who knew nothing of the area but were very interested to learn these two along with their freinds and regular patrons could not of been more helpful and freindly,hence we actually stayed another night and discovered the town.
The hotel is a little dated but in our eyes it is what it is,a freindly clean place to stay on your journey around a wonderful town full of pleasant and helpful people,hopefully on our next visit to the states a stay in the Aiken could be on the agenda!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meandourlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Spent 10days in this wonderful hotel whilst attending the Masters. It is only 17 miles from Augusta. The hotel and amenities including live music every night is a perfect venue for golf fans. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The city of Aiken is a beautiful place with lots of attractions including a variety of bars and restaurants and has many excellent golf courses within a few miles of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Sean C - Dublin Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masters2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Ok.. so you're reading the reviews for the hotel Aiken and they are across the board... what's up with that????!?! Well first thing is that many people seem to think when you pay $60-$80/night you should be receiving a 4-star $300/night hotel room. DUH.. no.. what you expect for $60-80 should be clean, decent, safe and perhaps convenient. The Hotel Aiken is very very convenient, lots of free parking, safe and fairly clean. What the Hotel Aiken is not is top-drawer, in perfect condition and ready to be there for all your wants and needs.

Would I stay there if I had small children during Steeplechase weekend? No way! There are bars everywhere and of course the event is a big excuse to drink. Would I go there with my elderly mother, No way! The elevator was acting up and actually went down I think during the event and my mother would have been annoyed by the noise and drinking. I on the other hand stayed in the courtyard and felt my double room was nice, clean and suitable for a nice weekend.

The free breakfast is terrific too! Although the hotel lobby is a bit shabby and in need of some capital infusion.. it is what it is.. Don't make it something its not and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paoball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
0.3 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 20 in Aiken
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
116 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC 29801-3865
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing