We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Cozy”
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willcox
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
santa monica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy and Cozy”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My time at the Willcox was one of the best vacation destinations i've ever had the luxury of enjoying.

The food was AMAZING and the rooms were comfortable and well tended to.

Aiken is a lovely, quaint town, and it feels as though the early evening social scene in town happens the Willcox Hotel. There was live music in the lobby that I enjoyed for most of the evening whilst nibbling on lamb chop lollipops!!

Amazing ambience, quiet, well- serviced and friendly.

High HIGH recommendation!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    46
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
124
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were a little disappointed. We had read all the wonderful reviews so we were a little shocked to see that our room had sticky carpet and mold in the shower! The hotel is in a great location, the staff was very friendly, but our room lacked the overall cleanliness that we were expecting. We asked about the Select Registry plaque that was outside the hotel on the wall and were told initally that they had no idea what the plaque was for. Then we were told that The Willcox is under new managment now and has not been a member of the Select Registry since 2008!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank listentothisadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a great two nights at The Willcox. The room was perfect and clean. Service was truly
outstanding, including Candace and Laura. John did an excellent job as the bartender, who also served our meal in the lobby which adjoins the restaurant. The food was outstanding.

This inn is perfectly located and a very short walk to the charming shops and restaurants of
downtown Aiken. My wife enjoyed her facial at the spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princeton Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel over the masters week. The staff were terrific, the rooms great and the attention to guests care was excellent. I had a small problem and the manager fixed it immediately without question with real style.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a historic hotel that has been updated to today's standards. It is a very pleasant hotel with a comfortable lobby and adjacent bar. Our meals were prepared well and the service was good. Very accommodating staff, pleasant to deal with and very informative.

Room Tip: Book well ahead if you are attending the Masters in Agusta or if you will be there in March for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomalcornsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I had lunch and a message on a rainy day! What a treat. The art is unbelievable...fireplaces...furniture, what a nice place.

Helpful?
Thank Huckelberry2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Va.
Level Contributor
316 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We dined at the Willcox Hotel in a Aiken last night, it's a favorite of ours and we always look forward to dining here at least once during our visits to Aiken. Like Aiken, it is a southern gem.
The property is chock full of grace and charm. She's an old property that has undergone a loving and exceptionally well done makeover.
The lobby area and restuarant are just lovely. Whether you are there just for drinks or dinner, it is a super comfortable environment full of charm. Not sure how old the hotel is, nor when it was done over but they have maintained every nuance of old charm and comfort.
The restuarant Is excellent. We were a party of four and once the food arrived, the conversation stopped. Everybody was thrilled with their choices.
Choosing your meal wasn't easy as there were numerous choices - could come down to a coin toss.
Our waitress was exceptional. A pretty young lady who has been there for at least a year - she waited on us last year - was knowledgable about both the food and the wine choices.
She was a star.
Do try the Willcox if you're ever in or near Aiken, I can assure you that you will be pleased.
We're going to book in for a second time later this week-end





.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bermudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#11 of 20 in Aiken
148 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Property: The Willcox
Address: 100 Colleton Ave SW, Aiken, SC 29801-4870
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#5 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willcox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning, historic Willcox Hotel cultivates a sophisticated, yet informal glamour amidst America's storied thoroughbred country. Cloud soft beds, an intimate Salon & Spa and one of the South's Best Restaurants - All in a setting of Easy Going Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing