We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bar but Go Simple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willcox
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
638 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
“Great Bar but Go Simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Beautiful bar, equestrian hangout. But the cocktails are terrible -- really bad Manhattan, no olives for your Martini -- try straight liquor, wine, or beer, and then you'll be happy.

We did not stay at the hotel, only had dinner (excellent food) and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    44
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
118
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

A golf partner on a recent trip suggested we visit Aiken and based on the Tripadvisor reviews we decied to book The Willcox. We were not disappointed. The service and staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Good size rooms and comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast was good and the dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The only suggestion we would have would be to serve drinks out by the pool. The hotel is a very short walk from the centre of town where there is a great atmosphere and lots of good restaurants and bars. We arrived on a Thursday and a local tradition is a jazz band in the hotel bar. A great way to start our visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tramway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Had Heard of Aiken S.C a while ago but had not had the opportunity to make it there till now. I am a big fan of historical hotels and this one delivers. The room was spacious and had lots of natural light.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this fine hotel 2 nights ago; I cannot fault the hotel or restaurant in any way. As soon as you walk in the door you are greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. The Staff are attentive but not over the top. The food is of high quality, very fresh, locally sourced and affordable. The room we were in was very comfortable and inviting. We will be back on our next getaway.

Kudos to the staff and management team!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 710Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My time at the Willcox was one of the best vacation destinations i've ever had the luxury of enjoying.

The food was AMAZING and the rooms were comfortable and well tended to.

Aiken is a lovely, quaint town, and it feels as though the early evening social scene in town happens the Willcox Hotel. There was live music in the lobby that I enjoyed for most of the evening whilst nibbling on lamb chop lollipops!!

Amazing ambience, quiet, well- serviced and friendly.

High HIGH recommendation!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were a little disappointed. We had read all the wonderful reviews so we were a little shocked to see that our room had sticky carpet and mold in the shower! The hotel is in a great location, the staff was very friendly, but our room lacked the overall cleanliness that we were expecting. We asked about the Select Registry plaque that was outside the hotel on the wall and were told initally that they had no idea what the plaque was for. Then we were told that The Willcox is under new managment now and has not been a member of the Select Registry since 2008!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank listentothisadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a great two nights at The Willcox. The room was perfect and clean. Service was truly
outstanding, including Candace and Laura. John did an excellent job as the bartender, who also served our meal in the lobby which adjoins the restaurant. The food was outstanding.

This inn is perfectly located and a very short walk to the charming shops and restaurants of
downtown Aiken. My wife enjoyed her facial at the spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princeton Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Property: The Willcox
Address: 100 Colleton Ave SW, Aiken, SC 29801-4870
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#5 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willcox 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning, historic Willcox Hotel cultivates a sophisticated, yet informal glamour amidst America's storied thoroughbred country. Cloud soft beds, an intimate Salon & Spa and one of the South's Best Restaurants - All in a setting of Easy Going Elegance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing