We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aiken
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
General Elliott Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Love! Love! Love! This is such an AMAZING INN!Rooms are elegant, Food is EXCELLENT, Staff was extremely professional, And the owners Kay (Chef) and Steve (Bartender) are so gracious and accommodating! Thank you so so much for such a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, but if there were it would be Excellent Im sure of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Peaceful setting well appointed and great food. Location is great being across from polo fields and the ambiance of horses

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELER100S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I am a repeat patron to the General Elliot Inn and have stayed primarily during the Master's Tournement but have also stayed two other times. Twice during the summer while passing through on business. Each time I can say all was so very consistent and their menu and rooms very inviting. You can always bank on the fact their standards are the same....perfect. The atmosphere/surroundings, accomodations, meals and service are excellent and have neither had a bad meal or bad experience in any way. Upon checking out, felt completely relaxed and ready for my new business challenges.

So for me, whether for a quick get away or a more deliberate trip such as The Master's, I have had nothing but the best of experiences. The General Elliott is absolutely the best as are the hosts/owners Kay and Steve. As I travel for a living can say with confidence it is always refreshing stepping away from the commodity hotels that all look the same in liew of some place you always know you have been to. The other comment I wanted to make is that whether they entertain guests for dinner at their restaurant or have other guests as a Bed and Breakfast, have always found the guests to be very interesting, accomplished and engaging in great conversation. It is certainly a place I have enjoyed and look forward to the chance to get back to when I can.

I- Jet Xf133

Room Tip: I have stayed in two of the rooms and found each very inviting and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while in town for the Masters. The Inn is surrounded by beautiful natural grounds and directly across from a horse farm which made the drive to it very nice. The rooms are nicely appointed. The bed was really, really comfortable and we really slept well. The bathrooms have decadant soaps, shampoos and an endless supply of fresh, soft towels. Dinner was outstanding - two types of delicious ravioli (cheese and short ribs!) with a homemade sauce for each one that complemented nicely. For breakfast we had made to order omelets, sausage, a nice selection of fresh fruit, fresh sliced tomatoes. Can't say enough how delicious everything was. Kay has an amazing touch in the kitchen. Both Steve and Kay are incredibly gracious hosts and we had a wonderful time in the late afternoon/early evening enjoying their quaint bar and lively conversation. Steve mixes a powerful cocktail! One of my favorite things about the Inn was the good old fashioned Southern wrap around porch. There are lots of table and chairs and shade. It was a nice spot to hang out to get some work done and equally as nice to sit and socialize. We are really looking forward to going back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite if it is available. Unfortunately, it wasn't when we were but we did get to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise34731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My fiance and I have stayed at this Inn several times, and definitely plan on going back! Steve and Kay (owners) have turned this beautiful house into a warm, welcoming, very comfortable Bed & Breakfast with that "at home" feel we were looking for. We actually ate dinner here after exploring Aiken for the day, and realized the food is equally fantastic. A nice range of choices...Prime Rib was phenomenal, Lamb Chops were outstanding, and Kay's special Ceasar salad is one that my fiance still speaks of. Wait staff was also very polite and accomodating. The house is beautifully kept - very clean and comfortable. High end lotions/shampoos in the bedrooms for those who appreciate the little touches. Steve is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Aiken as well - we were pleased to hear some interesting stories about the town and it's historic roots. Fantastic place to spend your time if you're looking for comfort and superb hospitality.

Room Tip: A detached cottage is also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merritt_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and I stayed 3 nites in April 2010 in the cottage. The outbuilding, called a cottage, is very satisfactory in space and supplies and worked well for us. Enjoyed having a communal living room to gather, free wifi was nice to have. Bedding is standard issue.
The main house is lovely, the hosts are friendly and gracious and the countryside is beautiful. What's missing is an element of luxury or extra-special touches. Breakfast was served from 7:30-8:00am--an unusually limited and early time for any inn, B & B or hotel. Breakfasts and snacks were satisfactory but ordinary i.e. packaged muffins, "lunchmeat" type ham, tostitos and refrigerated guacamole for the cocktail snacks etc. We did not have dinner at the inn. When asked about a coffee shop in town, Steve didn't seem to know of any but we--fortunately--discovered for ourselves the delicious homemade food and fresh ground coffee at Moon Beams on the main street thru town.
Aiken is lovely---picturesque main street, some shops with unusual products, a great brew pub with very good food and beer, the previously mentioned coffee shop is super. Didn't have time to visit a museum which we would do ordinarily but guide books give background for the area which is quite interesting. Had a phenomenal dinner at the Wilcox Inn which is a grand and gorgeous place--highly recommended by all 4 of us along with the brew pub and coffee shop.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytourist2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
6.3 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
264 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
6.2 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#1 of 7 in Aiken
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 20 in Aiken
140 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Elliott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Elliott Inn

Address: 939 New Bridge Rd, Aiken, SC 29805-8529
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing