We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting place, good food but pricey”

The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate
Ranked #9 of 177 Restaurants in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After three years of extensive renovations to make the turn of the century horse stables (one of four in America)into a beautiful and cozy place for diners, The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate opened in the fall of 2009. The restaurant and catering is directed by two experienced and creative culinary school graduates. The Dinner menu is freshly prepared with premium ingredients featuring seafood, steaks, plus German and Italian dishes. A smaller menu is available for casual dining in the bar, screened porch, patio and beer garden. The Stables Restaurant moves to the Mansion Inn from Dec 31-March 17
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting place, good food but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The owner/managers are very friendly and the outdoor seating was nice. The shrimp and grits was good, but it was a rather small dish compared to other restaurants. The $25 price was high for the dish. Very fast service and I had a great waiter. Their German dishes are their best sellers according to the owner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drivingmylifeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    20
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place is amazing. It's an old estate dating back to the 'winter colony' when the elite used to come south to Aiken for the winter. The restaurant is in what used to be the stables and it's been beautifully restored. You can grab a drink at the bar and then wander throughout the grounds which include 11 buildings (just to give you an idea of how big the place is). If you went to Yale be sure to ask about the Oak tree that the university gifted to the previous owners. You're likely to meet the current owner and his manager. They are both incredibly sweet and will tell you everything you want to know. Everyone that works there is really nice and they'll make you feel right at home. There's a lovely patio with music on the weekends. My shrimp salad was good but honestly I was more blown away by the experience. I loved it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariacantina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had dinner here several nights ago and it was fantastic! The grounds are gorgeous and the the atmosphere in the restaurant is unique and relaxing. The food was outstanding (I had the wienerschnitzel) and service impeccable. The best thing about the place are the owners Steve and Eva. They are such warm and friendly people and make you feel at home.
Cannot say enough about the place and cannot wait until I get back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Special luncheon for Midlands British Car Club...Excellent food served buffet style...Service was very good...Owner shared history of the restaurant and Rose Hill Estates. Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you looking for German or Duck, Your in Luck.!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Tonight Debbie & I went to The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estates. This place is not only gorgeous, it's food is fabulous. We're both 54yrs old & Debbie never had German food. I talked her into trying their Jäger Schnitzels and, I order Duck. We started our evening with a cocktail & fried green tomatoes & a German salad & house Bread. Once Kena brought this out just the appearance was 5 stars. After we tasted these appetizers I was really starting get excited about our main entrées. Well I'm here to tell you they sure didn't disappoint. Debbie could believe how good Schnitzel are & I still can't believe that was the best Duck I ever ate. This food was to perfection & the atmosphere was very romantic & mesmerizing. To top it off with great service form Kena & a visit from the owner. This is a first class act Restaurant. Wyatt Earp

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyatt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate also viewed

 

Been to The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing