We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable”
Review of Guest Inn

Guest Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guest Inn
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Nothing good to say. Nothing worked. Dirty. Rude.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lana7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

The hotel is under new management and in the process of being renovated. The room we had was typical economy. No worse and definately worth the price. There was a fridge and a microwave, which was very convient. The bed was comfortable and as clean as I ever trust hotel beds to be. There were very few guests besides us, so things were quiet. But betwwen the lack of other guests, the relative seclusion on the hotel, and the ghost towny look of the back unattached part of the hotel, (they haven't don't renovations on it yet) I strongly doubt that I would have stayed there if I were traveling alone. The gas station in front of the hotel didn't bring in the best crowd either. The locations is good if you need access to I-20 in a hurry. Other than that, downtown aiken is a 20 minute drive. There's a waffle house within walking distance and a Subway attached to the other gas station across the road. The hotel pool and free breakfast hours are pecular. The pool is opened from noon to 9 pm. Why noon? Its not like there was a lifeguard to work around. I don't see any other logical reason to prohibit someone their morning swim. The free breakfast consisted of milk, orange juice, coffee, frosted flakes, raisin bran, and what looked like poppy seed muffins. They closed the breakfast at 9 am and had very strict rules about not bringing any food back to the room. I'm sure there are some early bird travelers out there, but I think for most of us, closing the breakfast before 9 am is too early. The only thing that really irratated me was the room cleaning service. We stayed there 5 nights and the room was only cleaned twice. Granted they did knock two other times at an ungodly early hour, but appearantly this was the only round they made. If you want the room cleaned later you're SOL, no matter how long you leave the sign on the door for the room to be cleaned. I find this to be unacceptable, because there were so few other guests and so little other stuff for the staff to do. So, I would only suggest this hotel to single males or groups that wanted to stay in a quiet place near I-20 for 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrvlKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Don't wast youre time Front desk help horable Mgr no help. We got the run around whene trying to cancle because we cfouldent find the place. We found the hotel and it looked nothing like the web site said. WE CHECKED IN an CHECKED OUT 20min lader and still trying to get a Refund.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ericjamesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. Rooms are thread-bare and they are very stingy with the towels. We only stayed here because there were no rooms left in town for the soccer tournament. Our credit card was charged for rooms we cancelled with their front desk clerk (with her permission) almost three weeks after the fact. They said nothing to us at check-in about this.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigertale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Spartanburg, SC
12
Reviewed 6 July 2006

It was like the Twilight Zone! The orange, stained 60's furniture in the lobby was very interesting. Front Desk Staff were ok, but the rooms were very worn and the pool is nothing like the picture. I think there were also people living there with nothing better to do but to stand out on the railings.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2006

This place is a glorified truck stop. We only stayed here because we had a Monday morning flight out of Augusta and all the hotels in Augusta were full on Sunday night due to the Masters tournament. It is close to 50 minutes to the Augusta aiport. The rooms were dismal at best. Not worth $50 a night let alone the $100 we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mslarue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
5.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 20 in Aiken
35 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
117 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#13 of 20 in Aiken
154 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 20 in Aiken
142 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn

Address: 110 Frontage Rd, Aiken, SC 29801-9200 (Formerly GuestHouse International Inn Aiken)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range: £35 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Guest Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn Aiken Hotel Aiken
Hotel International Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing