We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff is very accommodating, friendly, and professional. I have been staying here for business for a few months and they always go out of their way to help with anything I need. The amenities are more than I expected. Very clean, nice rooms. Extremely comfortable beds and the kitchens have cooking utensils, pots, and pans. It is located on a main road and close to many food establishments. I will continue to enjoy staying at this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0405ScottR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hello and thank you so much for staying with us. I am happy to hear how much you enjoy our staff, rooms and location. Thank you again for staying with us and we truly appreciate your business. We hope to continue to impress you by going beyond your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for business for last 4 months. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Location is good. It is close to lots of food options. Short trip to the downtown area where there are great places to eat. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Allan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of our property, as well as your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I would also like to thank you for your compliment regarding our staff. Offering great guest service is our team's philosophy. If there is anything we can do for you here at TownePlace Suites by Marriott please don't hesitate to let us know.We thank you for choosing us for your business traveling needs and we look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed on a recent trip during Thanksgiving. The property was so clean and the staff was so friendly we wished we had to stay there longer. Near CVS, Kroger and many restaurants. Nice little kitchenette as well. Great breakfast--best hotel we have stayed at in a long time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and spending Thanksgiving with us. We appreciate the compliment of being the “best hotel that you have stayed in for a while”. We look forward to welcoming you back to TownePlace Suites by Marriott the next time you are in Aiken and we hope you stay longer as well. We wish you happy and safe travels until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel staff and management could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. The location is near restaurants. Some you can actually walk to. Others are very nearby.
Being new, the rooms were clean and comfortable, including the bed! Did not swim as it was too cold. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckyb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi, and thank you for the wonderful review! For future reference we would like for you to know that although our pool is seasonal; we do offer complimentary access to Gold’s gym (located less than a block from our property) which does have an indoor pool and is a full service gym. All you need to do is show your room key and photo identification to receive this free service. Also, when you stay with us you will receive discounts with local area restaurants when you show your TownePlace Suites by Marriot room key.

We look forward to serving you again and wish you Happy Holiday’s along with safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had two rooms here over Thanksgiving and we were so pleased with the cleanliness, spaciousness, and great location. Enjoyed having CVS right close plus grabbed dinner at Sonic at night we arrived and just walked back to room. Staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcomed. We will stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mlp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you stayed with us over the holiday season and had an enjoyable trip. Also, thank you for your kind words about our staff. We look forward to your next visit at TownePlace Suites by Marriott of Aiken. We wish you a season full of blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed for four nights over Thanksgiving. I'm now retired and this was a family visit, however, I spent a number of years on the road (for a hospitality company) so know what a business traveler wants and it's some of the little things that make a difference.

This is one of those "behind the shopping mall" locations hotel chains are beginning to adopt. Some hotels are easy to find, especially if they are near the interstate. This is a suburban location and I didn't see any signage. Whisky Road is the main shopping drag and Monterey Drive is a kind of small street through the mall. Look for the CVS. I always find it important to have food nearby and cannot tell you how many times I got back to a hotel after 8 or 9 PM and couldn't find a restaurant open nearby. This location has almost every chain in the world around it, some open very late and a few within walking distance. Aiken's major shopping mall is about a half mile down the road and there are about six supermarkets and food stores within five minutes. Across the street is a Walmart Supercenter. Can't find fault with the location.

First, the full kitchen is nice. This is a compact version of Marriott's Residence Inn and the smaller suite brings a lesser price. This is a shiny new hotel and displays some of Marriott's new enhancements. The desk is typical IKEA with plenty of space and storage. There is a roll out lower desk to make it easier to type. The nice enhancement is an opening in the desktop to drop your power cord and plug in underneath. Most hotel desks have you string the cord across the desk and plug into a desk lamp or wall. There is a bookcase over the desk if you have a bunch of stuff to put away (on a long stay). The pull-out sofa has a large ottoman with a hard cover to allow it to be used for eating or working while you sit on the sofa. The top lifts off if you want to put your feet up. There is a regular closet with sliding doors and a light inside. The kitchen has a garbage disposal but no space for the trash can, which ends up in the closet, not the greatest spot for kitchen trash. You could, of course, keep it in the kitchen, but that's the hallway between the door and bedroom. The bathroom has a powered vent fan (important for a couple...can save a marriage) but the counter top is a bit small so my wife's cosmetics spilled over onto the tank top. I think a longer term facility needs more bathroom storage. The toilet, being new, had a soft close lid, another quality of life feature, especially for folks in the adjoining room. The HVAC unit in the wall was new and much more quiet than many older units in some hotels. HVAC controls were a wall thermostat and here's the one strange thing I found about the room design. The thermostat was low on the wall directly behind and a few inches from the back of the flat screen TV. Anyone owning one of these TVs knows how hot they run and the hot air behind the set must raise the thermostat's sensor by five or ten degrees, making heat shut off in the winter or causing the AC to run in the summer. Somebody at corporate must have had a three martini lunch the day they designed that feature.

TIP: The TV directory on the desk was not really complete. I wondered all week why they had only analog channels on an HD set but found, on the last day, that if you tune above the listed channels, many of the same channels come up in HD, including HBO.

TIP. Though the low cost of the place may draw many one and two night visitors, this is run as a long-term hotel. As a result, rooms get only a light cleaning (bed made, towels replaced, etc.) during the stay and a full cleaning weekly (except, of course, between guests) There is a dishwasher in the unit, but I don't know if the housekeepers use it. We had glasses in the sink and they were washed a put away when we came back. I would treat this like we do a timeshare...check in, take glasses, silver and, maybe dishes, put 'em in the dishwasher and let it run. That way you're not drinking out of a glass some previous guest ran under cold water and put in the cabinet.

Staff was very friendly and it was a good stay.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms, other than big suites on the end of the building, look out on a treed buffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us over Thanksgiving, we appreciate the time you took to write a review for us. We agree that it is the little things that make a difference and we do enjoy our location.
Since we are a brand new hotel we enjoy feedback like yours that will help us improve and make the proper changes that our guest’s request.
We do offer daily housekeeping and a deep clean every week for our long term guests. Be assured that when you communicate with our front desk what your needs are they will be met by our staff. We are happy to hear that it was a friendly and good stay for you. Please visit us again in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving Day holiday weekend and it was aboslutely fantastic! Everyone, from the front desk employee to the housekeeping employees went out of their way to make sure that our stay was nice. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I also liked that the hotel was within walking distance to various stores and restaurants. Normally when we come to visit Aiken, we have to find a hotel in Augusta Georgia. We have a new place that we will stay in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSIMM0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Wow! We are so glad you had a great stay with us. We would like to say thank you for that amazing review about our property and we will definitely let the staff know about the great service they provided. We look forward to your next visit with us and wish you and your family safe travels until we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 20 in Aiken
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#5 of 20 in Aiken
311 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road

Address: 1008 Monterey Dr, Aiken, SC 29803-2107
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range: £67 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing