We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn being well run and garnering a lot of rewards.”

The Willcox Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 178 Restaurants in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub, New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic Inn being well run and garnering a lot of rewards.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Have only been there for dinner, but rates as second-best upscale restaurant in Aiken (Malia's is #1). Would not hesitate to recommend the Wilcox for any meal of the day, or just to stop in for drinks ion the historic lobby. Good food and good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willcox1898, Owner at The Willcox Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Restaurant and recommending us to your friends. We continue to strive to live up to our standards and exceed our guest's expectations. We get so much satisfaction when our guests leave happy and take the time to let us know how we are doing.

From all of us here at The Willcox, thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Geoffrey Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    79
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Steaks and Appetizers”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Restaurant at the Wilcox has the best steaks in Aiken, bar none. Always perfectly cooked and delicious. And the appetizers are also excellent, especially the liver pate' topped with port wine gelee. Excellent service and a sophisticated but romantic atmosphere along with the excellent food make this one of my favorite restaurants in Aiken.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipbuilder_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aiken sc
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love the Wilcox....historic hotel with charming restaurant with wonderful food. A must see for any visitors to Aiken

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rshandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Willcox a dissappointment”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I were eagerly anticipating our first dinner at the Willcox, but were rather disappointed with the food. The service was good, the menu on the pricey side for Aiken, but the food was not up to the expected standards. I don't mind paying a high price for a good dinner, but never like to pay big city prices for just average meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BPatter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willcox1898, Owner at The Willcox Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
On behalf of everyone at The Willcox, I would like to extend a warm thank you for choosing to dine with us. At The Willcox, we are committed to operating a casual and accommodating restaurant that serves only the highest quality food with personalized service. This is why your voice and opinion is so important to us.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of our food. Although we strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations, we know that sometimes we can stumble. We appreciate the time it takes for you to offer your constructive criticisms and hope that we may discuss your experience in further detail so that we can use this opportunity to better ourselves and make sure that your next experience will live up to our standards and your expectations.

Please call me (803) 648 1898 or email me gellis@thewillcox.com

Thank you again for your time,

Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken SC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wilcox lunch”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Went for lunch and the service and meal were outstanding. The ambiance is great! We had a group of about 17 and our orders were promptly taken, and the wait was not long. The staff was attentive to our every request. I'll certainly go back again. We dressed casually for lunch, but I think evenings would be more business casual or jackets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Montie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Willcox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing