We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend as THE place to stay in Aiken.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Houndslake
Ranked #2 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend as THE place to stay in Aiken.”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I was very pleased that my company booked me at the Houndslake Guest house when I started my new job here. I stayed at the Houndslake Guesthouse for 45 comfortable days. It was a wonderful retreat when I left a very busy day to go 'home' to the Guesthouse, be greeted by the professional staff, and take a calming walk around the Guesthouse grounds and Houndslake golf course. Every morning I had my coffee and breakfast (cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit) which got me started on the right track--and every every evening I would be welcomed back again to my comfortable room. Rooms are beautifully furnished and met my every need (coffee, internet, microwave, fridge!!). Very conveniently located to everything. With workout room, golf priviledges, and country club dining available, the Guesthouse provides excellent extras. I always felt very lucky to have had this terrific experience to start me in my new city. Several group events were going on while I was there and I felt that staff was able to accommodate both me as one person and the big groups with a high level of needed attention. I Would definitely recommend the Guesthouse as THE place to stay when you come to Aiken--for business, pleasure or your own golf tournament.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    15
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
16
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aiken,SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a wonderfull inn/hotel. Very much an "upscale" experience, but not much more expensive than the average chain hotels. Very friendly, accomodating staff. No switchboards or national phone centers to contend with. Nice continental breakfast. Beautiful "country club" setting - right in the middle of Houndslake CC. Well maintained, quiet, large rooms, free cookies, I felt right at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephrn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at the Guesthouse at Houndslake during the first week of December, 2011. I frequent the Aiken area and somehow I didn't know this place existed until I ran across it on TA. The place is great if you want a super clean, super quiet, reasonably priced place to stay in Aiken. I got a standard king room. The bed was very confortable and the linens (very important in my opinion) were excellent by hotel standards. The view was an incredible look at the 18th green of the country club golf course. I cannot wait to stay during the summer when the days will be long enough and warm enough to take advantage of the club privilages (you get these when you stay at the guesthouse). Tennis courts, nice looking pool, and 27 holes of golf are right outside the door. The staff were very friendly and engaging. A contenental breakfast is complementary and while it is nothing special, it is fresh and served with real glasses, plates, and silverware. Its difficult to explain how nice it is to return to this place (vs the standard fare hotel) at the end of a long day at work. So inviting even before you park your car.

I will be back over and over again. Can't wait to do some business in Aiken once summer arrives.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GardenEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I made the very wise decision to host a non-profit's board retreat here. Volunteers enjoyed a like new, clean fresh room, and the aminities wewe top shelf. We were surrounded by a picturesque golf corse, amid the ambiance that is Aiken S C. The staff was cordial an helpful. The Guesthouse at Houndslake experience was flawless. Ishould be hired to market this GEM worldwide.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We dropped my daugter off at unsc aiken, we were so happy
with our stay at Guest House. It was convenient to the college.
The staff was so nice and the room was so clean, beds were
also comfy. Carol was so funny at the front desk and made my
daughter at ease about college life.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallocup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

A perfect place for business and pleasure! I always feel welcome and comfortable at The Guest House with its golf views and country club atmosphere. The personal service provided by the caring owner and her friendly staff make this a jewel of Aiken!.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWALKER7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was the 3rd time we have held our reunion at the Guesthouse. The rooms were great (we all slept very well) and they were very accommodating to our unique needs. The free breakfast was much more than just the typical bagel and cheerios -- they even served Kashii cereal, hi-quality yogurt and fresh fruit. The best part, however, is their customer service (Hi Randy! Keep working hard!). We'll be back!

Room Tip: Plan ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwlchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
291 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
252 reviews
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Houndslake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Houndslake

Property: The Inn at Houndslake
Address: 897 Houndslake Drive, Aiken, SC 29803-5921 (Formerly The Guest House at Houndslake)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Houndslake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Houndslake is a 34 room hotel beautifully situated on a golf course in the heart of a residential resort in the city limits of Aiken, South Carolina. Most all our rooms have lovely golf views and our friendly staff will make your stay a memorable one. As a guest you receive privileges to use all of the amenities of Houndslake Country Club, dining, golf, and tennis plus swimming in the Olympic sized pool during the summer months. We currently offer an individual golf package at $99 per person based on double occupancy. This will give you the opportunity to stay and play without the need for transportation. Customized golf packages are available to include play at other courses in the surrounding areas. Susan Lott, a licensed massage therapist and personal trainer has her studio located on site and is available by appointment. Our guests have rated us the number #1 Inn on TripAdvisor! Whether you are planning a weekend golf outing, a family visit or a company meeting, you and your friends will appreciate the comfort and convenience of the unique Inn at Houndslake! We offer corporate, government, and group rates and look forward to helping you plan your special event. If you need lodging for an extended stay, we provide special long term rates. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, golf retreat, cultural weekend or just a place to enjoy the peace and quiet of nature, The Inn at Houndslake is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Houndslake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing