We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Houndslake
Ranked #2 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were looking forward to a return visit to the Guest House, but were extremely disappointed at the condition of this property since our visit two years ago. Perhaps it was worth spending the extra cost per night for the "suite" (just an upgraded room) -- we did have one on our previous visit and a relative had one this time -- but we didn't need a refrigerator and microwave (an in-room coffee maker which is now pretty standard in hotels would have been nice, though). Coffee and afternoon cookies were available in the lobby, as was bottled water -- a nice touch. Our room, however, needed major updating/refurbishing/cleaning. The carpet was stained; the mirrored closet doors were spotted; the bathroom ceiling was peeling and stained; and, worst of all, solid waste from the previous occupant was still in the toilet. There were no suites available or we would have moved. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppenlandgilligan, Owner at The Inn at Houndslake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I am the proprietor of The Guest House at Houndslake, and I am so very sorry you had an unpleasant experience. I was shocked by that information as we have never received any negative feedback about the cleanliness of our property. We appreciate your input and haven taken action with our housekeeping contractor. We are in the process of updating our guest rooms, and I can assure you this one is at the top of the list. I would like to make you a special offer for your next visit and hope you will give us another chance. The Guest House is a family owned property, and we take this matter very seriously. Thank you for your consideration. Peggy Penland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Always trying new places we found this place at a good rate just outside of Aiken. It is in resort/community. Nice pool, access to club dining and bar (great drink specials by the way). 10 minutes to downtown. The facility itself was very clean and neat but you felt like you were back in 1960 (which for me is not bad). For 100.00 a night it was good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the 18th hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6KenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were playing in the State playoff with our tennis team and were lucky enough
to stay at The Guest House at Houndslake. We were very comfortable, clean and the staff was outstanding. We were entertained each morning with golfers putting on the 18th green. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lowcountryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a great little hotel in Aiken! I was staying here on a concert tour and therefore didn't pay for the room...but I never would've guessed how nice this place would be from the outside.

It is in the Houndslake Country Club, and you'll probably need a local to guide you back there just to find it, but once you get there, you will love it! The staff was incredibly friendly, remembered who I was, frequently asked how I was enjoying my stay and Aiken. The king room is gigantic! The TV - while probably a typical size for a hotel - almost seems dwarfed by the room. That said, I don't usually use the TV in hotels, so I didn't care.

I had a ground-floor room, and had a great view of the golf course. Apparently, anyone who stays has access to the entire country club, and I think a discount on the course (or maybe only pay the greens fee). I was only here one night and don't golf, so it didn't matter to me, but next time I'll at least bring a swimsuit, as the country club pool is right next to the Guest House.

They had the typical options for a continental breakfast, but they were very good. And in a very nice room with huge tables and cozy chairs. I love that there was ALWAYS a pot of coffee on in the lobby.

It's about 10 minutes south of "downtown" Aiken, but it's a relatively small town anyway, and downtown has some great little restaurants and shops.

Since I don't know how much the room cost, I don't know about the value or if I would stay here again, but I'd definitely look into it as I imagine it's worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnmusikherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a sweet 24 room inn inside Houselake Country Club. The Inn is older, but not shabby. The rooms are large and king rooms have a fridge. the closets are roomy and the bathrooms are older, but clean and functional. We went with a large group for a tennis tournament and the place seemed exclusively tennis players and golf groups. Friendly staff and comfortable common areas. Even a grill on the patio. The restaurant and bar are in the Country Club building and are nice, but not special. The breakfast in the morning is simple, but did the job. Coffee and cookies available at night is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The bottom rooms were almost soundproof, but lonely, if you want to socialize. Folks on the main flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wm1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My tennis team made it to the State Championships in Aiken Memorial Day weekend.
This place could not have been any more perfect. We had rooms 200 and 201 which had a back stair case with a sitting area and led to the breakfast room complete with patio and grill.
We enjoyed grilling on the patio, watching TV, and of course breakfast in this space.
The rooms were lovely, staff was extremely accommodating.
I would stay here again in a minute!!
The Pub food is outstanding. Best lunch all of us ever had. Great citrus salad, burgers and club sandwiches..homemade chips are amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hhi4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed here as I was in town for a surprise birthday party..The wonderful staff made this a wonderful experience. My room was spacious with all the amenities you would need. I would highly recomend it.

Room Tip: My room was 211 spacious with nice view of Golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dijoaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 20 in Aiken
142 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
268 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Houndslake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Houndslake

Address: 897 Houndslake Drive, Aiken, SC 29803-5921 (Formerly The Guest House at Houndslake)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range: £74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Houndslake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Houndslake is a 34 room hotel beautifully situated on a golf course in the heart of a residential resort in the city limits of Aiken, South Carolina. Most all our rooms have lovely golf views and our friendly staff will make your stay a memorable one. As a guest you receive privileges to use all of the amenities of Houndslake Country Club, dining, golf, and tennis plus swimming in the Olympic sized pool during the summer months. We currently offer an individual golf package at $99 per person based on double occupancy. This will give you the opportunity to stay and play without the need for transportation. Customized golf packages are available to include play at other courses in the surrounding areas. Susan Lott, a licensed massage therapist and personal trainer has her studio located on site and is available by appointment. Our guests have rated us the number #1 Inn on TripAdvisor! Whether you are planning a weekend golf outing, a family visit or a company meeting, you and your friends will appreciate the comfort and convenience of the unique Inn at Houndslake! We offer corporate, government, and group rates and look forward to helping you plan your special event. If you need lodging for an extended stay, we provide special long term rates. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, golf retreat, cultural weekend or just a place to enjoy the peace and quiet of nature, The Inn at Houndslake is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Houndslake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing