We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Houndslake
Ranked #2 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was a great place, perfect for family trip. I like to learn and play golf with my child. We enjoy the activities and the localisation. The staff was very nice. The room was always clean, i be back the next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biroute K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
15
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Guest House at Houndslake is the kind of place you hesitate to tell everyone about because you want it to remain your little secret! It’s a small, charming inn where the staff remember your name and bake cookies for the guests each evening. The rooms are very reasonably priced (from $95) and are the perfect mix of old southern charm and modern comforts like air-con, flat screen TV and free wifi. The guest house overlooks the golf course at the Houndslake Country Club and the best part is that hotel guests get the same perks as country club members. This is a great offer for golfers, but even if you aren’t you can enjoy the tennis courts, swimming pool, and restaurants.

Room Tip: it's worth the price to upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank idreamofdurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Guest House is one of my favourite I've ever been! Lovely staff very helpful, clean and spacious room, and amazing view of the golf. I definitely recommend staying here for your holidays in Aiken.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsiky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Guest House at Houndslake! The staff was friendly and very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were very nice, spacious, and well-maintained. I hope to stay there again soon!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at the Guest House in Houndslake many times and each time is a good as the last.
I have stayed in hundreds of hotels all around the world and the Guest House is certainly up there with the best.
The staff are friendly (nothing is ever an effort to them) and each member of staff goes beyond what 'normal' hotel staff should be.
The rooms are extremely spacious and it's the little touches that make all the difference. Each floor is also equipped with its own ice machine and vending machine full of snacks.
Each time I arrive I am greeted with delicious cookies and a member of staff brings my luggage to my room.
The rooms are always spotlessly clean as well as the breakfast room and the rest of the hotel.
The hotel itself is situated in a great area of Aiken, there is a huge swimming pool outside the front entrance, a tennis club (with lots of members), a 27 hole golf course and a huge country club which serves beautiful pub and dining room cuisine.
Can't wait to come back to the Guest House at Houndslake.

Room Tip: Order a relaxation massage to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were looking forward to a return visit to the Guest House, but were extremely disappointed at the condition of this property since our visit two years ago. Perhaps it was worth spending the extra cost per night for the "suite" (just an upgraded room) -- we did have one on our previous visit and a relative had one this time -- but we didn't need a refrigerator and microwave (an in-room coffee maker which is now pretty standard in hotels would have been nice, though). Coffee and afternoon cookies were available in the lobby, as was bottled water -- a nice touch. Our room, however, needed major updating/refurbishing/cleaning. The carpet was stained; the mirrored closet doors were spotted; the bathroom ceiling was peeling and stained; and, worst of all, solid waste from the previous occupant was still in the toilet. There were no suites available or we would have moved. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppenlandgilligan, Owner at The Inn at Houndslake, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I am the proprietor of The Guest House at Houndslake, and I am so very sorry you had an unpleasant experience. I was shocked by that information as we have never received any negative feedback about the cleanliness of our property. We appreciate your input and haven taken action with our housekeeping contractor. We are in the process of updating our guest rooms, and I can assure you this one is at the top of the list. I would like to make you a special offer for your next visit and hope you will give us another chance. The Guest House is a family owned property, and we take this matter very seriously. Thank you for your consideration. Peggy Penland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Always trying new places we found this place at a good rate just outside of Aiken. It is in resort/community. Nice pool, access to club dining and bar (great drink specials by the way). 10 minutes to downtown. The facility itself was very clean and neat but you felt like you were back in 1960 (which for me is not bad). For 100.00 a night it was good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the 18th hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6KenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Houndslake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Houndslake

Property: The Inn at Houndslake
Address: 897 Houndslake Drive, Aiken, SC 29803-5921 (Formerly The Guest House at Houndslake)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Houndslake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Houndslake is a 34 room hotel beautifully situated on a golf course in the heart of a residential resort in the city limits of Aiken, South Carolina. Most all our rooms have lovely golf views and our friendly staff will make your stay a memorable one. As a guest you receive privileges to use all of the amenities of Houndslake Country Club, dining, golf, and tennis plus swimming in the Olympic sized pool during the summer months. We currently offer an individual golf package at $99 per person based on double occupancy. This will give you the opportunity to stay and play without the need for transportation. Customized golf packages are available to include play at other courses in the surrounding areas. Susan Lott, a licensed massage therapist and personal trainer has her studio located on site and is available by appointment. Our guests have rated us the number #1 Inn on TripAdvisor! Whether you are planning a weekend golf outing, a family visit or a company meeting, you and your friends will appreciate the comfort and convenience of the unique Inn at Houndslake! We offer corporate, government, and group rates and look forward to helping you plan your special event. If you need lodging for an extended stay, we provide special long term rates. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, golf retreat, cultural weekend or just a place to enjoy the peace and quiet of nature, The Inn at Houndslake is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Houndslake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing