We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Speakeasy - CLOSED

Speakeasy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

In town for the Masters and thought we'd try something a bit different. Got the secret code from FB. Great service -- really made us feel like we were their "guests" right from the outset. Interesting and tasty selections on the menu. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken
1 review
“Great new restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Best oysters in Aiken. Special atmosphere and service is top notch. Best debut of a restaurant in years. The menu is urban chic with a southern charm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Gem - Experienced Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Joe and Arlene's second endeavor in Aiken...Another hit ! Oysters are awesome...Scallops large and tasty...Chops are a must ! Friendly staff....A must if you are in Aiken

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great music - Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I learned that the owners of one the finest restaurants in Aiken, Casa Bella, had opened a speakeasy downtown so along with another couple decided to give it a try. The door code (readily available on the sign outside) was a nice touch reminiscent of the speakeasies of the prohibition era and set a nice tone. The décor of the restaurant embraces that period as well. I was expecting the same impeccable service and fine dining as Casa Bella (see ratings for Casa Bella) and although the menu is quite different, I was not disappointed! I ordered the filet which was cooked exactly to my liking and was served with rosemary roasted potato and a zucchini/carrot/onion vegetable mix that was delicious. My wife had the lamb shank with rice and vegetable and thought it was the best she had ever had. Our server was attentive and very helpful without being overbearing. We thoroughly enjoyed the music which featured a duo doing some light jazz and vocals. All in all it was a great evening. The Speakeasy is a great addition to our dining and entertainment choices in Aiken. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good dining at Aiken's newest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was apprehensive about dining at an establishment that is so new but was pleasantly surprised with the food quality and excellent service. The menu was so appealing I had difficulty selecting. The salad selection is outstanding and my order of the pear salad was very nice. The menu has staples such as sea scallops in bacon to fillet mignon to salmon. All in my party were pleased with their meals and drinks. And while the dessert menu was slim, the pineapple upside down cake was excellent. The cake had a nice texture and flavor. Most impressive was the kitchen and wait staff. Excellent and especially impressive for a newly opened restaurant. Next time in Aiken, I will visit Speakeasy again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing