We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ, Great Sauces”
Review of The Pompous Pig

The Pompous Pig
Ranked #3 of 270 Restaurants in Anderson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: THE BEST BBQ! Smoked Pork, Ribs, Chicken, Beef Brisket and Sausages. The meats are smoked daily for 8 to 14 hours in our on-site BBQ Pit using a mixture of woods (Hickory, Pecan, White Oak) combined with unique blends of spices and rubs. Our traditional southern side dishes are cooked from scratch in-house each day. Come on by and visit us early 'cause when it's gone, IT'S GONE!
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Great Sauces”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The BBQ pork, chicken, and sausage, were all good on thier own. adding some of their sauces made them much better. Six sauces to choose from, some vinegar based, some tomato based, and a mustard sauce, some hot, some mild. Small portion of OK mac & cheese, large portion of some great fried okra accompanied my plate. My wife's BBQ nachos were covered with cheesy yum. Prices were OK, the folks that work there were all friendly and attentive

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    64
    24
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I think this place has the best BBQ in town. Friendly staff and the owners make a point to come speak to customers. We always enjoy the brisket. Yummm

Helpful?
1 Thank Doggiedoc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, but pricey”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had the brisket melt sandwich with the sweet potato side. It was very good. The brisket had very good flavor and was very tender. The sweet potatoes were very good and complimented the sandwich well. Unfortunately It was overpriced for what I got. I understand BBQ can get expensive, but the sandwich and side was 11.99 (which after reviewing my receipt after I left i was charged 12.99). After adding a drink and tax (as well as adding an additional $1 charge for having sweet potatoes) my sandwich, sweet potatoes, and tea was over $16. That's a pricey lunch. Other than the price though, the food is excellent. The staff was friendly and I received my order very quickly. I would return, but may not be an option when on a budget.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipM290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Barbeque”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment you walk in the door you are greeted with the smell of good barbeque. The taste is wonderful and does not require sauce. Side dishes are good. In Anderson if you want good barbeque go the Pompous Pig. The one drawback is that they do not have enough tables to handle a big crowd.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLAIDDDRWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good pig”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This place is located by looking for its sign because ut does not face the road. Good pork bbq and sides which included some of the better bbq beans i have eaten. Sauces were just so-so but otherwise good place to stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danonatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pompous Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Pompous Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing