We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Starting at the check-in, I could tell that this was not going to be a good stay. Upon arriving at the desk and giving the clerk my last name, she then went through the reservation file-box, and said to me, "Would you like to leave your room on the card ending in 5555?" I responded, "I don't have a card ending in that number." She said, "You are Mr. Smith, correct?" At that point I said, "No, I said I am Mr. S****." She apologized and went back into the reservation file-box and pulled out the EXACT same one she had just replaced. She then said, "I am sorry about that Mr. Smith, but it has been a rough afternoon." I said again, "I am NOT Mr. Smith. I am Mr. S****. Please look for that reservation." Finally, it was settled and we were able to check into our room.

At the back entrance to the hotel, there are two doors, with the inside door requiring you to swipe your keycard to gain access. As I started to swipe the card, I noticed that the door was not latched, would not latch no matter how much I tried, and thus was not a secure entrance to the outside and the rear of the hotel. Upon entering into the lobby, I mentioned this to the clerk, who assured me that it would be looked at. This was not corrected by the time we checked out the next morning.

Upon finally arriving in the room and using the bathroom, I noticed a piece of a ceiling tile missing, and in it's place was stuffed a piece of Kleenex or toilet tissue. See the photo provided. While washing my hands at the sink, I noticed a red residue at the seam of the backsplash and countertop, which I wiped up with a washcloth and could not tell what it was. See the photo provided. My wife and I discussed checking out of the hotel, and finding another location, but as we had been traveling all day, and were tired from our trip, we decided to stay.

One of the main things that we look for in hotels that we stay in are clean and safe/secure facilities. This time this location failed in both areas.

We travel several times a year, and usually stay in the Holiday Inn chain of hotels, but we have had several instances such as this with other properties in different regions of the country. I am not sure what the issue is with the management structure from the top down at corporate level to the individual franchisees, but my wife and I both agree that we are done with the chain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volsandshoesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

I would like to apologize for your most recent stay. It is certainly not the standard we intend to keep at this property. I have addressed all issues with my current staff, including cleanliness, efficiency of check in, and maintenance issues. We do normally only keep our doors locked between the hours of 11pm and 6am for our guests safety. Regardless, I want all of our guests to feel safe and secure. I will be looking into this policy as well. I appreciate the feedback as it will help us greatly improve the quality of product and services to our guests. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please feel free to call the hotel directly. I would certainly like to make things right by you.

My Sincerest Apologies,

Brian Barsce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Was a wonderful stay!!! We have 2 kids and the pool was just warm enough. Would of liked the hot tub to be re-oped :( Loved that they used real towels at the pool not little hand towels. The front desk clerk Alex was very friendly and helpful. We asked about a restaurant that was close by and he described it. We were just about ready to pull away to eat and he ran out a coupon for $5 for the restaurant. We were so appreciative since most front desk clerks don't ever go out of there way anymore it seems. The women at breakfast was fantastic too!!! The rooms were really neat and modern, clean, and loved the bath and body works shampoo and conditioner!!! Not much in walking distance except a few dine-in restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SejaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We really appreciate your kind words. We try to provide the same excellent experience to all of our guests. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed on this Hotel for two nights. We got a King Suite with jacuzzi tub. Loved the modern decor and separate sitting area with tv. Tv also in the bedroom. Tub is very loud when filling up. You can't hear the TV when the tub in the room is filling up or when the one in the room next door is filling up. The jets are only at the side not near the back or feet. Otherwise it is a great soaking tub. Bed is comfortable. Pillows are lumpy. Don't really like them. The breakfast was very good. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, cinnamon rolls and a pancake machine. Never saw one before but the pancakes were good. The staff was very nice. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again. Our worse experience was being awaken by a lot of motorcycles at 6 am because this is a popular bike hotel. Everything else was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acebietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We appreciate your business and wish to have you back in the future. We are going to be purchasing new pillows in the next 3 months. I will also address the tub noise with my maintenance department to see if we damper the water noise. Once again, thank you for for your continued loyalty to Intercontinental Hotels and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I asked the front desk clerk to check my Priority Club account to make sure I was accruing my points. It seemed to be an inconvenience. She never really acknowledged me and when I said thank you, all I got was an "Uh Huh". I travel a lot and have experienced rude hotel staff and I just added this person to my list. Other than that the hotel is just... OK.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

We certainly apologize that we did not meet your expectation for service at our hotel. We certainly try to meet and exceed all of our guests requests in a friendly and courteous manner. I have addressed your issue with our staff and will certainly use it in our future trainings under "what not to do". I can certainly reassure you that this will not happen again going forward. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent service and the staff was so nice and professional. There was an error on the bill and I had no problem geting it corrected. My credit card was charged at the end of my stay but I paid cash up front. When I noticed the charge, I immediately called the hotel. Without delay, someone was there to help me. The staff member that checked me in was on the phone to help correct the error. He remembered me, aplogized for the error and assured me the the matter would be handled ASAP. He did say it would take 3 business day for the correction. Sure enough, three business days passed and the problem was corrected. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to go to Alcoa/Knoxville area.

Room Tip: Go online and review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sister1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Holiday Inn Express ALCOA (KNOXVILLE AIRPORT)
I stay here on business every time I am in the area. The hotel itself it situated off the beaten path, so, no traffic, very low noise but very nice restaurant VERY close to your door. Puleo's Grille, try it you will not be disappointed.
Hotel staff goes out of the way to be nice to you, although they are understaffed at times.
Breakfast buffet is always plentiful, hot and clean.
For those guest that are into fitness, there is a super nice jogging/bike trail, Greenleaf or something like that, just across the street the goes for MILES…. Well lighted, and paved…so no excuse not to exercise

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are super quite but either is good as no traffic at all after 5 PM and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

We really appreciate your compliments. We try to provide every guest with an excellent guest service experience. We look forward to having you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Booked three nights on way to N.C. and then booked another for return trip we liked it so well. Free breakfast. Cook Tiffany kept things clean and lively. Front desk staff was helpful. Facility and pool was clean. Airport noise not heard once your in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back lower floor if you want a private entrance, giving you two exits, common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alcoa hotels
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville Airport Alcoa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Knoxville Airport
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)

Address: 130 Associates Blvd, Alcoa, TN 37701-1944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As part of the greater Knoxville area, Alcoa, Tennessee, offers small-town charm and warm hospitality while remaining within easy driving distance of the big city. We are located just a short drive from the Knoxville, TN airport, so the hotel's guests can easily travel in and out of the area. Business guests have a short drive to companies like Alcoa Aluminum, Clayton Homes, Denso Manufacturing and Newell Rubbermaid, and the McGhee Tyson Air National Guard Base are nearby, too. Finally, corporate travelers can take advantage of the Business Center and two meeting rooms. While in Alcoa, TN, the hotel's guests can enjoy area attractions, such as the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame and the exciting Tail of the Dragon. We hope you take the time to explore the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, too. While in the area, be sure to visit the University of Tennessee, which is also home to Thompson Boling Arena., or come in for SEC Football. After a busy day, catch a show at the historic Tennessee Theatre. Besides offering a great location near the Knoxville, TN Airport, the hotel's facilities boast free high-speed, wireless Internet access. We also provide a complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. Other amenities include an indoor pool, a Fitness Center and free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport) Hotel Alcoa
Holiday Inn Alcoa
Alcoa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing