We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value!!”
Review of Motel 6 Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Athens
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Staff was super friendly, very clean motel!!! Ice machine worked and was not a mile away. In the morning they made coffee and coffee that meant my picky husband's seal of approval. Great value for the price. Could not ask for a more helpful staff!! If in the area again we will stay there!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

#1 staff was very friendly.
We stayed here because we were traveling with our small dog (they were pet friendly). Got room cards that didn't work with the side door (I think the card reader on the door was broken). Room wasn't the cleanest, burn holes in the bedspread and carpet of our (non-smoking room). Sheets and such seemed clean, but the room was extremely outdated and had stains everywhere on the carpet (I kept my socks on).
The strong smell of incense almost overwhelmed our hallway.

It worked, was cheap and accommodated our dog... we survived.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

As anyone who uses Motel 6s on a regular basis can tell you, they are NOT all created equal. Because I travel with my dog, and because I resent having to pay extra for her, and because Motel 6 does not have pet charges, I stay at them pretty frequently. I almost always check TripAdvisor first, and if the reviews are at least adequate, I am willing to put up with the lack of amenities in favor of cheap price and the no dog hassel. Guided by the great reviews of this property, I stopped here on my way to Alabama. It was spot on. The rooms are a little on the small side, but they are very clean, the beds were good, the linens clean and fresh, the price was on par with many lessor motels in this chain, and the bathroom was updated and quite large. It DOES have indoor corridors (but has an elevator) which I generally do not like because of the dog, but they gave me a first floor room near an exit door when I asked, so it was not any issue. Plenty of green space to walk the dog, too. Nice owners. You can't go wrong staying here....not fancy, but better than average for Motel 6, and, actually, better than many of the higher priced chains. I will try to incorporate this one into my frequent trips down south.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Augusta_MEJRTlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Placed my reservation by phone . Motel 6 reservations did a great job , very professional.
Upon arrival desk clerk very proficient and helpful . Got a great room and a great rate......I will continue to use Motel 6 in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

In town for a dog show and we stayed at the Motel 6. I usually prefer outside corridor motels.. just makes it easier when traveling with large dogs, but it worked out fine. The room was clean and comfortable. Big, corner-sized bathroom. The vanity and sink are actually inside the bathroom, unlike most motels these days. We were only there for one night, but had a pleasant stay and no problems!

Room Tip: At this location, the corridor is on the inside instead of outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowDogCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is by far the best Motel 6 I have stayed at in years! Clean, fresh smelling, and quiet. Of course it's not the Marriott but with four kids it was affordable and the best for the money! We were driving home from Florida and arrived at night so could not see much of the city but being that it was right off the highway I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnyonye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Rather plain and worn from the outside, I almost skipped it and I'm a regular at Motel 6. However, I asked to see a room and it was fine. Carpet could use more attention when vacuuming, but the bathroom was clean, mattresses are comfortable as as the pillows. I travel with my dog and prefer to give Motel 6 my business because of their pet policy. Don't forget that you get what you pay for! I paid $35 for a night, I don't expect the Hilton!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogluver93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 10 in Athens
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#1 of 10 in Athens
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Athens
Scottish Inns Athens
#8 of 10 in Athens
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#7 of 10 in Athens
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 10 in Athens
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Athens

Address: 2002 Whitaker Rd, I-75, Exit 49, Athens, TN 37303-6994
Region: United States > Tennessee > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £37 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 (100% Non Smoking Interior Corridor with Elevator) we welcome our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Relax and enjoy all that Motel 6 has to offer. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms, HBO With Direct TV, Morning Coffee & coin laundry facility available.100% Satisfication Gaurantee. Pets, Kids, Seniors Friendley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Athens
Athens Motel 6
Athens Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing