We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfume on a Pig.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Abilene
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfume on a Pig.”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

The facility common areas were nice and tasteful. Exercise room adequate. Computers in the business office center slow. I was never able to log into my work e mail site. The guest room-over all appeared tasteful furnished. The bed comfortable. That is , until I pulled back to sheets to adjust the bed firmness. On the mattress appeared the dried remnants of some sort of bodily fluid. The bathroom had mold and mildew build up on the corners of the shower. The floor dirty and a live black bug crawling around. The bathroom door was filfty. I brought it to the attention of the front desk clerk. I shared the pictures with her. She said the manager would talk with me. I have not heard a word from the manager.

Food - the dinner meal - the waiter had nothing but rude attitude. I placed my order to go. He rolled his eyes and acted as if it was a big issue to place my order. He never spoke one word to me. Not thank you. Yes. No. No words. The breakfast. Buffet. Eggs and bacon cold. Service was shotty at best. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Jania,
Thank you for your response in Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate your comments, whether good or bad, as they allow us to make improvements at our hotel. I was not aware that you wished to speak to me until now. Please contact me at the hotel, so we can discuss this matter and that I may accommodate you for all the trouble that you experienced with the cleanliness of your room, and the disconcerning attitude of the staff.
The comments that you have shared are lower than my expectations for this hotel. I have addressed your notes from the comments with my staff, and we will work diligently to ensure they do not occur again. We have taken care of the issues that you have mentioned and I thank you for bringing them to my attention.
Were there any issues during your stay other than the ones already reported? If there were any issues you did not mention, I would like to know about them, as it is always the squeaky wheel that gets the grease. Also, if any of my staff went above and beyond for you, please share that with me as well, so that I can commend them on a job well done.

Again, thank you for your response. If I can be of service to you in the future, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,
Lynne Haven
General Manager
325-690-6432
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    95
    61
    39
    34
See reviews for
140
53
18
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2/8. This is a nice hotel. The rate was reasonable. It was nice to have a small restaurant and bar on site. There was an indoor pool that was nice. There was flavored water in the lobby and cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast was not complimentary. It was 7.95 but good with eggs, bacon, waffles, fruit etc. the beds were not the most comfortable. They are suppose to be sleep number but we couldn't find where you dialed the number so they could have possibly been more comfortable. We were on 2nd floor and could hear everything above us. It was midnight before it stopped sounding like elephants were above us. Good service everywhere. The bartender was really nice. Good location. Close to mall and restaurants. . I would stay here again but request top floor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationsRme58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret you had problems with the noise and the bed. We are also glad to hear you liked our on site amenities and would stay here again. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Great Hotel in a GREAT location if you are staying over in Abilene! Hotel is located almost on the same parking lot as the mall of Abilene - so everything is within walking distance. Wonderful breakfast for a reasonable price. Hotel was clean and has a fully equiped office center should you be forced to work. Only drawback - Limited number of upgraded rooms - so be prepared for a standard room.

Room Tip: Limited options for upgrades. Most are standard fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
The Hilton Garden Inn Abilene would like to thank you for all you kind words describing our hotel. Your complimentary review is much appreciated! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

I was asked to initial a sheet confirming i received an information sheet talking about the services of hotel? New policy from mgt. made me laugh

Strange HGI. commented on the smell in the room and they acted like it was no big deal.
Hotel is ok but not great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpkingtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The staff was VERY friendly & helpful. The accommodations were quite comfortable, the business center was easy to access, and the food (breakfast and a late dinner) were very good. All in all a good value (I got a corporate rate through the organization I was visiting for business.) The hotel was very conveniently located and there are plenty of other restaurants/stores around. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
The Hilton Garden Inn Abilene would like to thank you for such a nice review for all our business travelers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Traveling back to Indiana snow forced us to stay in Abilene. With a phone app I found the local hotels and their prices. I called the Hilton and the front desk lady quoted a lower rate, even though the hotel was in demand that night! When I offered to hold the room with my credit card the reservation lady asked if I was driving. Since I was driving she suggested she would hold the room without a credit card to ensure our safety while driving. When we arrived she was covered up with guests but promptly checked me in. She commented on my Hilton Honors status and addressed me by my name with a great smile.

The lobby, room, room service, amenities, bathrooms, etc., were beyond our expectations. While this is not a top of the line Hilton we were treated the same as we usually are whenever we stay at a high end Hilton. We did not pay more than $100.0 for the night's stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rangellalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
 Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Abilene our associates pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I have stayed at the Abilene Hilton Garden in twice now for business (starting in July and just recently). I will be returning.

The hotel is located in a convenient location by the mall and other local chain restaurants.

Upon arrival, the staff has been very prompt and friendly. This is VERY important being a woman solo traveling in an unfamiliar city. They even gave me a questionnaire about my favorite foods/drinks/etc that would make me feel more at home. They had choices of two cold fruit infused water choices and warm, right out of the oven cookies.

When entering my room, I felt as everything was very clean. I'm kind of a germ-a-phobe and to feel this way is very comforting.

Breakfast wasn't free, but speedy and they made me a great egg white omelet.

Overall, I will be returning on my next quarterly business trips! It looks like previous reviews say they had a bad experiences, but the new management must have really turned things around.

Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Abilene, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Jill M,
We always appreciate your comments, whether good or bad, as they allow us to make improvements at our hotel to serve you better.
I'm glad we exceeded your expectations throughout your stay. If there were any issues you did not mention, I would like to know about them, as it is always the squeaky wheel that gets the grease. Also, if any of my staff went above and beyond for you, please share that with me as well, so that I can commend them on a job well done.
Again, thank you for your response. If I can be of service to you in the future, do not hesitate to contact me.
Best regards,
Lynne Haven, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
0.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#15 of 37 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
6.9 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#6 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Abilene
Hampton Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Abilene

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Abilene
Address: 4449 Ridgemont Dr, Abilene, TX 79606-8703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Abilene 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn Abilene Hotel is within walking distance to the Mall of Abilene and shopping area. We are in an ideal location with easy access to all three major colleges in Abilene and the top Abilene attractions. We offer complimentary WiFi and a 24 business center along with clean and comfortable rooms to help you enjoy your Abilene visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Abilene Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing