We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed one night and we're quite pleased with our stay. The room was large and comfortable. The front desk people were attentive and helpful. Walked to a chain restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was a standard fare but decent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctravelerCctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We would love the pleasure of your company in your future visits to Abilene and the West Texas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    120
    84
    51
    29
See reviews for
227
89
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a beautiful place to stay! The front desk lady in the evening at check in was cordial, but Marty and Jennifer were like visiting with friends! Marty checked us out and even gave us further travel advise. He and Jennifer were great to help in any way and accomodated our every need! The room was the nicest we stayed in during our 11 day travels. The room was clean and felt as if you were staying in a beautiful home! We had booked on hotwire with not knowing for sure what to expect, but were so very pleased! The breakfast was great and even had doughnuts! We would definitely stay here again if in this area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
It was a pleasure having your family stay with us at the Wingate By Wyndham in Abilene. Jennifer and I are pleased to hear that you felt like you were visiting friends when you stayed with us at the hotel. In this busy fast pace world we love to meet new people and slow the world down. Each guest to us is someone that we would like to make as a friend and make them feel as comfortable as visiting a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The front desk attendant when we arrived was surly at best. The gentleman at the front when we departed was friendly and warm. We weren't greeted when we came and went and were there for multiple days. Replace the unfriendly women at the front desk to make a better stay for your guests. Otherwise, the accommodations were good and we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank JackDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingatebyWyndham1, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for you kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrews, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My experience was not bad at all, but based on the previous reviews, I was disappointed, so my review is going to explain why I wasn't impressed.

Here are the things that were less than desirable:
- The lid to the ice bucket was filthy. It looked like it had mold on it. I left it face up and unavoidable (I thought) so the housekeeper would clean it. It was ignored.
- There weren't enough towels in the room, and similarly, there weren't enough towels by the hot tub (only 2 both places).
- I asked at the front desk for the room safe to be unlocked. I explained that I was leaving, but that it was fine for them to go in and unlock it so that I could use it that night. They called me several hours later to ask if they had my permission to enter the room to unlock the safe. I assured them they did. When I returned to the room, the safe was still locked.
- The cordless phone was beeping and displaying a message that the battery was bad. I just unplugged it and reported it before I left.
- The door to the room was very hard to open and close. I had to throw my shoulder into it. Kind of ridiculous.
- Lastly, on the second night, there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom.

It was a comfortable and spacious room, though, with nice furniture. Good location. The breakfast was good, and at the times I went, there was adequate seating.

I got this room through a blind booking on Hotwire for $75, so it was satisfactory. Otherwise, having stayed several times each at the Hampton, Fairfield, and Hilton Garden Inns in this immediate area, I would always choose the Hampton for most consistently good stays.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
I want to apologize to you for your unpleasant experience. Your comments helped us develop a more complete system in managing the housekeeping and maintenance service. I assure you that if you would be kind enough to give us one more chance you will see the difference a couple of words made to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I arrived in Abilene late (around Midnight), after a fairly long trip from Texarkana. We had difficulty locating the hotel, so I called the hotel to ask for directions. I admit that I was feeling tired and irritable, but the hotel employee wasn't helpful with the directions. Once we arrived at the hotel and came to the front desk, we waited a bit, and then she appeared. She brushed the crumbs off of her shirt and apologized that she was just eating.
My wife and I didn't feel that she was very pleasant. In the hotel room, we noticed scuff marks on the walls. It appeared like the room had been treated roughly by former guests. The next morning, we noticed that the breakfast area had a limited amount of food available. It appeared that the staff tries to be a little stingy with the food items. The TV was playing loudly and I asked the hotel attendant from the breakfast area to turn down the volume. I admit that I didn't ask pleasantly, but the attendant was also sour in her reply. When she turned the volume down, another of the guests complained sharply that the volume is not loud enough for her to hear. When the attendant said that another guest asked for it to be turned down, she replied, "whatever." Admittedly, my mood could have been better, but the hotel staff could have treated us better as well. Especially for the nightly rate charged by this hotel chain. We will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingatebyWyndham1, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
I apologize for the way that you were treated while staying at our hotel. It has been a month of training and trimming the staff so that your experience would never be experienced again. Thank you for you honesty and I would like to assure you that if given a chance the Wingate By Wyndham would love to redeem ourselves to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#15 of 37 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Abilene
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#6 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Address: 3010 Catclaw Dr, S.Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606-1500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Abilene Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing