We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great value (for West Texas)”
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitten Inn
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed 4 August 2003

I paid $54 (plus tax) for my room that same night. It seemed expensive, but I was tired and needed a room.While driving around in Abilene later that evening, I saw their billboards which said a room was only about $38.They seem to have two locations. The one I stayed at did not offer free breakfast. There is a restaurant which would (obviously) charge separately.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 256 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Throckmorton, Texas
13
Reviewed 3 August 2003

Thanks to the Whitten Inn what looked like a ruined family reunion was saved. They had accomodations for 12 rooms, served a nice breakfast and we had use of a banquet room at the other location for the reunion. Thanks to the friendly staff and the clean facilities. You can tell the inns are AMERICAN owned and operated. Thanks again--we will be back!!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
dension, tx
14
Reviewed 1 August 2003

For the price it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in... For $48 dollars the room included a refrigerator, micrwave, iron and ironing board. The rooms were of a good size and the beds were very comfortable. But the best was the staff, they were friendly and helpful. The pool was a definite plus, it was larger than most hotel pools that you find. All this and a super continental breakfast... I will stay there again, when I go back to Abilene!!!! I went to a much higher priced hotel in the area that some friends were staying at and our room was every bit as nice, for half the price!!!! A thoroughly enjoyable stay, good job folks!!!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington, Tx
15
Reviewed 31 July 2003

Room was extremely clean, Staff was very frienldy, love that Texas hospitality, i will stay here every time i come to abilene, Wonderful just wonderful, my new home away from home

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: le stanze sono tutte sullo stesso piano, più o meno uguali
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dammmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiexpo, General Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank vincentlacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
6.7 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#16 of 37 in Abilene
257 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
1.9 mi away
Best Western Abilene Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1625 Texas Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601-4745
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior corridor rooms with exterior accessing doors. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Happy hour nightly. Fitness room, outside pool, breakfast cooked daily and business center. RV lot and deluxe suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing