We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its name!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharon's BBQ

Sharon's BBQ
Ranked #45 of 260 Restaurants in Abilene
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Aliso Viejo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to its name!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Had the beef brisket sandwich tasty and good. BBQ sauces were awesome choices. Rustic interior and plenty of tables for all. Surprised to see it was a buffet line. Beans were good, wasn't impressed with the mashed potato salad that I tried off my husbands plate. He didn't like it at all but did like the sausages.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedDeb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a recommendation from a local and a coupon. We went for lunch. The counter lady was helpful and explained how the ordering worked. The food was just ok. The BBQ beef sandwich was nothing to rave about. Have had better at most of the BBQ chains. Cole slaw wasn't much either. However, the potato salad was very good, raising the food score to just average. No need to go back if we're in Abilene again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nanookdalla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I had the pork ribs and smoked sausage two meat combo plate. I added the jalapeno corn and a salad with ranch dressing. Great fresh bread and Coca-Cola products. Food is great and the atmosphere is relaxed. It can get real busy around lunch time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What they do well, they do VERY well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just went to dinner at Sharon's on a whim. The ribs, brisket and sausage (both regular and jalapeno) were super tasty and very well cooked. I was pleasantly surprised that they had beef ribs instead of pork ribs, you choose the sauce or sauces and even without sauce all of the meat was tasty and lightly seasoned. The cornbread was very good as were the simple beans and coleslaw. The only reason they didn't get 5 stars is the sides, they are just that, side players to the star, the bbq. Will definitely go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XaniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top BBQ in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at Sharon's countless times and never once have we been disappointed. Their corn is to die for and their sandwiches are top notch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJames414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharon's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sharon's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing