We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip shrimp nite!”

Towne Crier Steakhouse
Ranked #94 of 264 Restaurants in Abilene
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned steakhouse that just celebrated our 50th Anniversary! Well known for our chicken fried steak, hot fresh rolls with butter, and soup and salad bar. Yes a salad bar still exists in town! Towne Crier Steakhouse opened for business on February 18, 1966. The highest priced steak dinner was priced at $1.39! Neil Fry opened the restaurant and long time owner Dwight Aston started here in 1977. Rhonda Williams bought the restaurant in 2015. We are also known for our Chop't Steak, Chicken Fried Chicken, Chicken Strips, Kids Meals, made from scratch desserts and much more !
Spearman, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Skip shrimp nite!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My mother wanted to go to shrimp nite for her birthday. I called ahead for a table of 8. We were seated quickly with onion rings and drinks. Orders were taken an that is when service ended!!!! Salad bar was good and plenty of boiled shrimp. We should have stopped there. A very long wait for entrees....and they were the specials! 4 of our group waited an extra 20 mins for their food. An extra 20 min with 3 staff prompts to get a child's chicken strip plate. No recognition of my mothers birthday. Fried and grilled shrimp were subpar. Not worth the money or time. Last trip for my group.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wbwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The number one plus for the average rating was the rolls. They are real yeast rolls of the Parkerhouse style, not just dinner rolls. That brought the rating up to average! Now for the rest. The restaurant looks dirty and old. You can have an Olde English look and still be presentable. It needs remodeling bad!! The steak I ordered was the fillet. Tougher than the sirloins served at regular chain restaurants. The salad bar had good options for a salad, but the plate is so small you can hardly keep lettuce on it let alone toppings. Staff were polite and courteous. Owner needs some lessons in dealing with employees. He fussed at an employee about putting rolls on the bar before making a loop around the customers first. He did this in front of all the customers dining. This was embarrassing for the employee and bad business. The rest of the food might be better, but the steak is a poor quality. Prices are a bit over done. Order at your own risk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towne Crier S, Public Relations Manager at Towne Crier Steakhouse, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Patrick,

Thank you so much for your detailed suggestions! We appreciate all of your feed back and the time you took to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what it was!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This place is dirty and needs new carpet and cleaning. I loved this place as a kid and it looks exactly like it did in the early 90's. The food is not consistent and you never know how it is going to taste. The owner needs to invest in his place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixiecup71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towne Crier S, Public Relations Manager at Towne Crier Steakhouse, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your detailed suggestions! We appreciate all of your feed back and the time you took to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The rolls are good, but beyond that???....ummm...Skip this place!!!! I really should have gave it a terrible...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasBlingJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just basic food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

When the hot rolls are best thing a restaurant serves you know there are weaknesses. The food is only basic but usually dependable. Prices are fair but not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Towne Crier Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing