We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice Hampton”
Reviewed 25 December 2010

This Hampton was nicer than most I've stayed in and I'm assuming it's not very old. I didn't get in until about 8pm so I did not spend a whole lot of time there, but the desk clerk was helpful with directions, etc and gave me a very nice room (King Study Suite?) The drive to the aiport was only about 10 minutes. Also, I was on the 3rd floor and had no issues with the high speed wireless, so I can confirm they apparently resolved any prior issues.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Man069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    98
    43
    8
    14
See reviews for
170
120
31
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Nice hotel. However, the wireless system does not work in the rooms. Even hotel management admits that due to the cement walls their wireless internet does not connect well or at all. Go to the Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_girl_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abilenehamptonsuites, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
I am very sorry that the wireless internet was not working when you stayed at our property in March. As operations manager, I understand how frustrating it may be to not be able to get your work done while traveling. In September we completely replaced our wireless internet system to overcome and remove this issue.

If there is anything else I can do to make your stay here better, please call me at 325-673-4400. I would be happy to make a reservation for you. Again, thank you for your feedback and I apologize the internet was not working on your last visit. Please consider giving us another try now at the Hampton Inn & Suites I-20.

Sincerely,
James, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

This hotel is a great hotel and has a wonderful staff and this staff is always willing to work with you absolutlely outstanding,

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua761312006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merkel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We hosted our fall meeting of the Suez Shriners in Abilene Texas this year and stayed Oct 1st, 2nd and 3rd at the Hampton Inn & Suites on I-20 and FM 600. The rates were fantastic for a hotel of this quality and the staff, Dave, Justin and Chrissy were all that we could ask for. We did have one guest that had their reservation unexplainedly cancelled but everything else was terrific. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to have a convention or just to spend the night in Abilene !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipneedmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stay at Hampton Inn's all the time and think this is one of the better one's. Clean, quiet, fridge, microwave, nice decor, comfortable bed, huge walk-in tile shower (room for you AND your friends).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biplanepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I'm still very angry with this hotel for one reason: We booked a "suite", which most travelers associate with a living room and a separate bedroom. Their website is very vague about the description for the suite, and now I know why: it isn't a suite. It's a single room. A few feet away from the bed is a coffee table and a sofa. Between the sofa and the front door is an area with a fridge, sink, and microwave. One room. I booked a suite specifically because we were traveling with our infant son, and sleeping in the same room with him made for a LOOONNGGG night. I didn't have a problem with the rest of the hotel, except I would expect to pay less than $100 for a room in Abilene, TX. Two nights later we stayed in a luxurious suite in Tucson for $110, and the experience was at least worth twice the price of the Abilene Hampton Inn. Ice machine was broken (isn't it always?), but they let me use the ice machine in the kitchen downstairs. Staff was fine, which is usually true of Hampton Inns. Everything seemed clean, again usually the case with Hampton Inns. Didn't eat breakfast or use the internet - this was just a stopover on a road trip. We crashed & left. Not a lot around the hotel except other hotels, gas stations and a few restaurant (no fast food in the immediate area). Abilene, if you don't know, is an awful place, not worth staying in unless you have no choice.
Summary: Really angry at what I consider false advertising. Hampton Inn knows what it's saying when they say "suite" - they know what travelers are expecting, and my suspicion is they are being deceitful on purpose. Otherwise it's an adequate place to spend the night, but I would not recommend this place to friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maastrichtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Due to a freezing rain/icy roads we were forced abandon our drive on I-20 to look for a hotel in Abilene. Being a member of Hilton HHonors we called them for the closest Hilton properties. The easiest to get to was the Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene. It is right off the I-20 (exit 286C). Being a Hilton HHonors member (and due to some other cancelations) we were upgraded to a suite with a whirlpool. Very helpful staff, nice accomodations, clean room, nice breakfast. The consistency amongst the Hampton Inns we have stayed at was evident here. Would definitely stay here again.

We usually look for local restaurants to get a flavor of the place. So the only potential "negative" was the limited choices for restaurants nearby (Denny's, Cracker Barrel, Chili's), although the food at each of them was good enough (as expected from a chain restaurant). Maybe next time the weather is nicer and it is easier to venture out.

  • Liked — Easy access, friendly, heloful staff, great room
  • Disliked — lack of choice for nearby local eating
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLuvFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Abilene - North College Area
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Abilene
Hampton Inn Abilene
#7 of 37 in Abilene
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#15 of 37 in Abilene
246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#5 of 37 in Abilene
344 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Address: 3526 W Lake Rd, Abilene, TX 79601-1730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Abilene
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abilene
#3 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene hotel is located right off I-20 and right down the road from Abilene Christian University and Hardin-Simmons University. We offer free breakfast and complimentary WiFi for your convenience and clean and comfortable beds for your comfort. Come visit Abilene and discover all that West Texas has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene i-20 Hotel Abilene
Hampton Inn And Suites Abilene i-20
Hampton Inn Abilene
Abilene Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing