We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gimmicky”
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #42 of 266 Restaurants in Abilene
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Texas Roadhouse is a steak restaurant providing legendary food with legendary service. Texas Roadhouse specializes in hand-cut steaks, fresh-baked bread, fall-off-the-bone-ribs, and made-from-scratch sides. We also serve ice cold beer and legendary margaritas. Treat your family and friends to a night at Texas Roadhouse.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gimmicky”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

It might be a cultural difference, being that we are English on vacation. Waited for half an for a table, thinking this must be good to be so popular. It wasn't , fast food with little flavour, gimmicks to get you to overlook the poor food, free peanuts being one of them, this results in peanut shells all over the floor. I was offered marshmallow and caramel on my sweet potato, I laughed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank somkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food, service is hit or miss”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Food has been good each time we've been there. But, the hostesses have always been very rude & not wanted to accommodate a high chair. We even tried the call ahead seating, but they ignored it because of the need for a high chair, although I stated that on the phone. We've had waiters that were good & some that were horrible! However, the cheese fries, ribeyes & bread have been very good

Helpful?
Thank 5SRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food for a roadhouse”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

While on the road we ate here. First we had to wait for a table, even tho we could see lots of empty tables. Overheard the hostess say the kitchen was backed up. I order wine, a big mistake in a Texas Roadhouse, poor quality and overpriced. Others in my group ordered draught beer, there was some confusion about what was on tap, so not everyone got their choice. the appetizers were ok. However, the ribs we ordered were good, finger lickin' good. Which made it worth the walk from our hotel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple times. Staff is always friendly, beer always cold, and the ribeye is delicious! Best tasting ribeye in town!

Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Brownwood, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Love the Dallas Filet, COLD Beer, baked potatoes and rolls!! We liked super so much we had lunch the next day before we left town. The salmon, green beans, mashed potatoes and ROLLS were awesome! Iced tea was VERY GOOD!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDlovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing