We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Space and privacy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Space and privacy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Traveling with 4 kids always presents a challenge in finding a room that will allow all 6 of us. We were thrilled with this hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful, and made us not only feel welcome, but as if they were excitedly anticipating our arrival. Service was top notch. The breakfast was nice. Thought the blueberry flavored waffles were a really nice touch. The best part for us was the arrangement of the 2 room suite. The separate bedroom had a bed and the other room had a partial partition separating the spacious bedroom side from the living room side. The pull-out sleeper was not as terrible as some are. The room was so spacious. Great for the whole family and really nice to have the parents have a real bed and the provacy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your comments and we hope that you and your family will visit us again, always feel free to contact us with any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
29
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for several days on a business trip to Abilene, and I was very impressed! The room is first and foremost - extremely clean! (That is actually my most important criteria!) The room is also quite spacious, with a couch/sitting area, desk to work at, medium size fridge, microwave, and all of the other normal amenities. I slept better in this bed than I do at home, and I have a new bed there!!! The staff were friendly and helpful. This will definitely be my go-to place to stay in Abilene for future trips. I highly recommend trying this hotel if you need a place to stay in Abilene - you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmark999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your compliments on the cleanliness of our hotel and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I had originally booked a different Comfort Suites in Abilene, but upon reading the Trip Advisor reviews, changed my reservation. I'm really glad I did! This hotel was really nice, the front desk clerk was cheerful and welcoming when I arrived at 9 pm after an 8 hour drive and I enjoyed the little goody bag!

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A little noisy from road noise on the highway side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Abilene, Texas is one of my favorite towns. It has great people, a lot to do (Paramount Theatre, Abilene Philharmonic, Frontier Texas, Buffalo Gap), good food (McKay's Bakery, Rick and Carolyn's burgers), and it's only a couple of hours from my home in Fort Worth.

The other weekend my wife and I drove out there to see "The Music Man" at the Paramount, and we stayed overnight at the Comfort Suites.

The room was large and comfortable. There was a divider between the living area and the bed, which gave the impression of being two rooms, though there was only one. The fridge was bigger than average for this sort of place, which is a nice plus if you've got a multi-day stay. The bed was fantastic, with a mattress that was neither too soft nor too firm. Despite being close to Interstate 20, the room was very quiet. Staff was friendly. Cookies at check-in were a tasty bonus.

Breakfast was free, and while nothing special in terms of taste, there were a lot of choices.

Only downside: Road construction that makes getting to the hotel a little challenging. Fine if you're headed westbound, but from any other direction you've got to know where to turn. (Hint: Take the road by the Lowe's entrance.)

Overall, I think this is my new favorite hotel in Abilene. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottRLucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
thank you for your feedback and we utilize this information to make improvements in areas that it needs.
thank you again for business and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

The service here was nice, but we wished it had an indoor pool and breakfast was not good. I had to ask twice for coffee and the eggs were those rubbery patties becoming too common at Comfort Inn and Comfort Suites properties. One very nice touch was a goody bag for each of us to acknowledge Choice Privileges status. The snacks were very timely!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for review, it seems that our hotel has been mistaken for another Comfort Suites hotel you stayed in, here in Abilene, we are located on Hwy I-20 and have an indoor pool and spa.
we appreciate you using Tripadvisor.
Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hotel is just a few years old, is on I-20 at the extreme northern side of Abilene. We drove into Abilene for a funeral, spotted the hotel from the freeway, walked in around lunch time and were given exactly the kind of room we like: large, well appointed, top floor, the quiet side of the hotel. When we had a little trouble getting into the wireless network, a staff member came to the room and got us connected. She was personable, has worked for the Comfort chain planning new hotels, and we enjoyed meeting her and appreciated her help.

Because of its location at the edge of Abilene, this hotel may not be the best choice for people who have business in the heart of the city or at the medical complex.

Room Tip: We ask for a non-connecting room, top floor, quiet side of building and away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor, and it was a pleasure meeting you also.
have a wonderful Christmas and new year.
Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene OR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Minor issues: hard to find (TomTom GPS sent me miles away), and heavy street construction complicated getting to the place, presumably a temporary issue (early Nov 2012). Otherwise very nice. Would be a big improvement if they had airport transportation but none of the Abilene hotels seem to have a shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#3 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Abilene Northeast
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 1902 E Overland Trl, Abilene, TX 79601-6605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abilene Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing