We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Wichita Falls
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Construction Nightmare”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Good stay at this newer hotel. Room was great, not much water pressure in shower. Evening and night staff very helpful and attentive. Staff apologetic for horrible construction delays, hazards, and obstacles. Of course the hotel has no control of the construction process but this contractor seems to be intent on killing any business in this area. Drive a 4x4 truck to this nice property and enjoy a good night of comfort.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
thank you for your feedback, we are all awaiting very patiently for this construction to be over also. But we still thank you for your intent to stay with us, hopefully getting to the hotel on your next visit will be a breeze.
thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    59
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
30
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We came for a college visit at ACU and stayed here because it is about half a mile away from campus and near restaurants within walking distance (great country style cooking at Cracker Barrel). This is not a luxurious hotel but it is comfortable, the suite (we got one w 2 queen beds) was very nice size and had a small sitting area. While the hotel is aging, it is well maintained and our room was very clean w comfortable bedding and a window unit for heat and a/c which we could not turn off (it adjusted well to tempearture but the fan would not turn off) but we realized it was a blessing in disguise because it blocked the noise from the highway we faced so it made for some adjusting during the night but all in all it was a good stay. In the morning we were expecting rubber eggs, toast n watered down coffee...but alas! What a nice surprise to have a good array of fruit, tasty scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, cereal, nice coffee and even a belgian waffle maker. The breakfast room is spacious and had a tv screen with the news program on. The lady in charge of the breakfast area was super kind and kept servicing everything to make sure all went smoothly.
The front desk staff were very efficient and courteous. -- The only thing was that this is NOT A PET FRIENDLY hotel (reason why we gave it 4 instead of 5 marks) - when we inquired about it we were given some explanation about some people having pet allergies and that it is liability to the hotel...well, we have stayed at far nicer venues and we enjoy the trend of being able to bring our small pet along. My thought was, then have pet friendly rooms allocated on a different floor. I do not mind paying the small charge (usually $25 for the whole stay) and having to bring a crate to house the dog so housekeeping can do their job without having to be concerned about the pet in the room. -- Despite that fact, we would stay here again. Recommend it to families visiting ACU.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and it is unfortunate that we do not accept pets as we are all dog and cat lovers at the hotel.
We appreciate your business and thank you for selecting us for your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times, but on this particular weekend, it was completely full due to major area activities. Not everything went perfect for us at the hotel such as the cleaning crew did not leave toiletries in our room, but I can understand things like this happening when they are pushed to their maximum capacity. What impressed me, however, is the responsiveness of the front desk to more than compensate for any little inconvenience and respond quickly, politely, and professionally to resolve any problem. One cannot expect perfection, but good customer service is to be applauded here especially when every staff member had to be stressed to their maximum.
I have also stayed at some Choice hotels, in other cities where even though the hotel was not full, every morning the coffee pots were empty, and the breakfast was not serviced with food. on this busy weekend, there were extra pots of coffee, and the food never ran out even when the dining area was packed with not seats left.
That is why I keep coming back to this hotel.
#270788732

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and I will be sure to share them with the team at Comfort Suites University, we appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

the Comfort Suites is in an area of Abilene, right off of the highway, with many other hotels. I'm sure the others are nice but the Comfort Suites has big rooms with seating areas, friendly staff, and is significantly less expensive than the others.
Confirmation # 322791291

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, and hope to see you again on your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After my first stay at Comfort Suites University last summer, I knew that when I returned with my family we would be staying there. The service is courteous, welcoming, friendly, and quick. The breakfast was filling. The rooms are clean, and the hotel is convenient to ACU, Walmart, restaurants, and I-20. We enjoyed time in the clean pool area as well. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are so happy that you chose to stay with us again this year.
we hope to see you and your family again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Whole Gang Of Us Which Consists Of My Family rolled in rather late , how ever we were checked in speedily and greeted respectively.Apon entry to our room wich was on the top floor another thing i love , extra exercise up and down the stairs and closer to God.This room was very spacious i mean big !

Room Tip: Call ahead and if you have children with you make shure the pool and spa are in full operation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are always here to help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I always try to stay at the hotels that give me consistent, quality customer service and Comfort Suites University does that. The front desk personnel is always easy to talk to and with, no matter the time of the day or night. They recognize me when I come in, even after several weeks of being away.
I like the suites, beds are comfortable, and with the roll out desks, I have plenty of room to set up and work with my laptop, printer, and various folders and files that I use.
The location is convenient to downtown Abilene plus there is a Walmart, multiple chain restaurants, and other shopping areas.
It's a good place to stay.
#316924474

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you and I will be sure to share these wonderful comments will all our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#5 of 37 in Abilene
344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Abilene - North College Area
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 37 in Abilene
156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 1902 E Overland Trl, Abilene, TX 79601-6605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abilene Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing