We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I normally stay at Holiday Inns, but this place was a bit cheaper. Lobby and elevators hot and stuffy upon arrival. The breakfast wasn't as nice as the higher end hotels. The grouting around the tube and toilet not as clean as I've seen. The room apon arrival was humid and warm. It didn't seem to be cooling very well. I spoke to the front desk and the attendent was more than happy to switch rooms. The room did cool down but did have a humid feel. The front desk person was also accomodating by allowing me to take a top floor room. For those who have extended stays and workout, this place is not equipt well. I would suggest supplying dumbells to workout room. The room service lady was very sweet and helped with replacing my towels since I didn't want room service on that day.I'll stay again, but not for a extended time.

Room Tip: I took top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gman526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we will utilize this information to improve area within our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    55
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
29
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have stayed here several times while in Abilene visiting our college age kids. Always been a great experience. Linens and beds are comfortable and I love that the "fan" on the A/C will run and make a fan noise all night. Great option for Abilene! 297491157

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDlowe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

No lights in the parking lot except by the door - it's pitch-black at night out there! Not good. Construction is awful - but that's not the hotel's fault. It affects all the businesses along I-20 through Abilene.

The business center printer doesn't work. Almost 100 documents were in queue, waiting to print. Apparently, it's been broken for some time. These are really inexpensive to replace! The luggage rolling cart was literally falling apart. My iPhone refuses to read the wireless signal - it never has problems. The elevator was dirty and the hallways are hot and stuffy.

The room is reasonably clean, the bed doesn't kill my back, the shower pressure is adequate, and the toilet flushes. The desk clerks seem very nice and friendly. Those are my minimum standards! The property is definitely not as nice as it was six months ago. Things are looking shabby.

I'd stay here again, but not if it got much worse. A turnaround is needed, and quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we will be taking all your concerns into consideration to have these issues resolved, again we appreciate your business and hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel was ok. I was suprised when we walked in our room that it was the #3 hotel in Abilene. Tile in bathroom was cracked, paint chipped off the walls...was clean but felt just ok. We did leave a item behind and called the next day. They had it and we were able to pick it up so very honest cleaning crew! Thanks for that!!! I would probably choose a different hotel next time in Abilene.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, the hotel has aged a little and we are soon to go through some renovations, but we hope that the customer service and honesty of our staff will bring you back to stay with us again hopefully.
Again thank you for your feedback as it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is our third stay at this property and we are very pleased with this hotel. We stayed here as a base for visiting Abilene for a few spring break days. We are a family of 4 and have two elementary aged kids. The rooms are great with a flat screen TV, large couch, microwave, and large dorm fridge. We had excellent housekeeping for our room, the front desk staff was extremely polite and helpful with questions, and grounds and facilities were well taken care of. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub when the red dust was blowing and had time to relax and let the kids play. The breakfast is excellent and had lots to offer including waffles, bacon or sausage, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and much more. Having a breakfast on property saves you a lot each day and is great for feeding the family before seeing the Zoo or Frontier Texas. It was nice to arrive in the afternoon to have fresh oatmeal cookies just baked ready for our kids when we checked in. The price was fair for what you get and you are located close to several restaurants and a nearby Wal Mart if needed. We will stay here again next time and if you are traveling with a family and need a great place to rest for a night or stay a few days, we love this property.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs but it is far enough off the highway that front or back rooms are quiet either wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we certainly thrive to make sure our guests are happy, so happy the kiddos enjoyed the cookies and glad you were able to visit us. looking forward to your next visit with us.
Thank you again for selecting us as your hotel choice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our family stayed here and we were excited about a good price and indoor pool! When we first made the reservation it did not go through. Then a friend helped with making a reservation, it was cancelled without our knowledge until we were almost to the hotel. Upon our arrival we paid neither of the before prices but much more. There was no help from the front desk and the end result from them was we could leave and stay at another hotel. Also a lot of construction and difficult to get in, not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitha419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your response, unfortunately your friend who happens to work for a choice hotel property had made reservation on the employee rate for you which in fact you are not an employee of as we verify employment with the hotel, as an owner operated hotel we have the right to cancel a reservation if information is not found to be correct, we contacted the person who made the reservation for you as there was only her information on the reservation.
From the date of your original call to find out what the prices were to the date of your arrival to the hotel, the prices increased, out of courtesy my front desk gave you 10% of your rate.
It is unfortunate that you feel that this is not enough done for you under the circumstances, but we appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Good stay at this newer hotel. Room was great, not much water pressure in shower. Evening and night staff very helpful and attentive. Staff apologetic for horrible construction delays, hazards, and obstacles. Of course the hotel has no control of the construction process but this contractor seems to be intent on killing any business in this area. Drive a 4x4 truck to this nice property and enjoy a good night of comfort.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComSuiUni, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
thank you for your feedback, we are all awaiting very patiently for this construction to be over also. But we still thank you for your intent to stay with us, hopefully getting to the hotel on your next visit will be a breeze.
thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Abilene Northeast
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 1902 E Overland Trl, Abilene, TX 79601-6605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abilene Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing