We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and clean for most part” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Inn Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Inn Expo
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and clean for most part”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We had an issue with our room not closing properly informed the front desk the went out for the day upon our return the problem has been fixed only draw back was that we had smoking room as that was they had due to some powerlifting tournament in town

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash P, General Manager at Emerald Inn Expo, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    8
    2
    16
See reviews for
13
5
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We apprehensively stayed here last night because it was right next door to the truck shop our truck is broken down at and it was the least expensive in Abilene. Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised by our room. The beds are incredibly soft and yes, the rooms are older (this is not a brand new hotel) but they were very very clean and very comfortable. Our room had a mini fridge and a microwave and they were both unplugged and had been cleaned inside and out. That much detail into cleaning a room is amazing. Definitely will stay here again (as we are doing tonight!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poisonlady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash P, Director of Sales at Emerald Inn Expo, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We love, love, love to hear when a guest is enjoying their stay at our hotel. We hope you continue to have a great stay and if you need anything please let our front desk staff know. We unplug the fridge and microwaves to lower electric cost and longevity of them so that we can offer our guest better discounts.



Thank you
Karen Goff
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

So i come to Abilene often and have always seen the signs for the whitten inn....I finally decided to try it out...Its about average id say..Older style motel with great parking...Staff was very friendly and helpful.. Room is about average as well....Could use an update as it is an older place. UPDATE THIS PLACE!......lol

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GpsGuy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash P, Director of Sales at Emerald Inn Expo, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are so glad you decided to stay, and hope to see you again soon. We recently began overhauling our rooms in the last couple of weeks, its going to take us so time but we are diligently working. All rooms will be completely deep cleaned, rooms that need it are being repainted, furniture refurbished, all outlets and fixtures are being repaired or replaced, and properly attached to wall. Soon after we have completed this the new bedding will start to go in. We hope that once again you will stay with us and find that we have moved into above the average category !!!\


Karen Goff
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

for past 10 years I spend every Labor day weekend at Whitten Inn in relation to a big Dove hunt we do every year. they are always friendly, rooms ar Just OK, nothing to write home about. But they work, the TV's work, and the AC's work- all I need.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sraney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
312 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here one night on our trip back from Houston. When we entered the room I saw a big read cockroach and my friend saw 2 in the tub!! I called the front desk and they said they had been having troubles with them coming in through the drain. He offered to change our room but we were very tired and chose to stay. Employees very nice, hotel OLD!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyer, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed at the property for years for business and when we attend The West Texas Fair and Rodeo.We could not believe how this place has went down hill. First we arrived late Friday night and it took 50 Minutes to get checked in, there were 3 people ahead of us, who also by the way were giving out phone numbers to other hotels in the area, as people cae in the door. At least 4 couples and families left or got a refund then left after seeing the rooms.. The room key would not work, so I had to walk back to the office 3 times fearing for my life with all the thugs up and about at 1AM. Never Stay Here with Children, it is just too dangerous. The rooms are dirty and run down.The free cooked to order break fast that the video brags about is a joke and does not exist, its just stale cereal, hot milk, rubber waffles and filth every where. We know why Larry and Mary Ann have that smug smile on their faces as they know how they Love Stealing Your Money. We Will NEVER stay here again and advise all our buddies to stay away. The Lady operating the front desk was new and to her defense was trying so hard, but she was not properly trained and kept calling another employee for help, who finally quit taking her calls. JUST A HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE! LARRY AND MARY ANN ARE THE JESSE JAMES OF MOTELS

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash P, Director of Sales at Emerald Inn Expo, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We do apologize for the experience you had with your keys, sometimes this is an unfortunate event that we can not foresee. We do our best especially late at night when maintenance staff is not available. As far as you saying that guest were given information to other hotels, the only time this happens is, if we are full or do not have the room type the guests are looking for. We have checked our records several times to find out whom might have checked out because of issues with rooms but we were unable to find anyone. This property sold in January of this year and is no longer affiliated with Mr. Whitten and his wife. We no longer carry the hot breakfast, due to it was closed before the sale of the hotel, but we have diligently being looking for someone to lease out the restaurant area so that we may once again, offer the hot breakfast that everyone so loved. In the coming months all guest will see the improvements that are slated to happen, and we encourage you and all other guests to continue to stay with us, and see for yourselves.



Karen Goff
Sales Manager
Whitten Inn Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abilene hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great old style motor inn that is cean, reasonably priced, convenient parking to your room. Outdoor pool was nice and clean. Stay in hotels 100 nights a year and I would rank this very high for value for your dollar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blaze814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
4.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abilene Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Antilley Inn
Antilley Inn
#28 of 37 in Abilene
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#10 of 37 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 37 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Inn Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn Expo

Property: Emerald Inn Expo
Address: 840 US Highway 80 E, Abilene, TX 79601-6114 (Formerly Whitten Inn Expo Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Inn Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Inn Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Expo Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing