We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, room for improvement. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MCM Elegante Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MCM Elegante Suites
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, room for improvement. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The decor was very elegant. Room service was responsibility priced and the chicken fried steak was huge! It was nice having the extra living space with a table also. The free breakfast was wonderful they made our eggs fresh and how we wanted them. They had 4 free alcoholic beverages between 5:30 and 7, with bottomless chips and salsa. Overall a very pleasant stay for us. There were some things that I felt like needed improvement, that are very minor. They microwave we had in our room was old and didn't warm up food very well, our tv remotes were so delayed that it literally took a minute to change a channel, when we first arrived into our room the counters were dusty and there were wrappers in one corner behind a night stand, we have a young child and we brought an I pod to plug into the tv so he could watch his movies, the hotel somehow made the tv ' s unable to work manually so we couldn't change the Input to play his movies ( more than likely they want you 2 purchase the movies they are selling) the major thing that we were Un happy with was they deactivate our room cards before check out time on our last day, not knowing this we were locked out of our room and the hotel while we were loading our luggage in our vehicle. Overall this was a very nice hotel and we will stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank amynewton1593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    34
    23
    25
See reviews for
76
29
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Short overnight trip, just to get away, and discovered this unique hotel. The decor and architecture is beautiful, common areas with fountains and live plants. Most hotels these days are "pop in, pop out", but would gladly hang out here for days, so peaceful and relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed the Easter Sunday buffet, delicious and elegant. The free prepared to order breakfast was much more than the "norm".

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jolyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I along with several of my colleagues changed to this hotel after receiving very poor customer service at the Hilton Garden Inn in Abilene. From November 2013 to January 2014 we stayed at this hotel and I have to say I was pleased for all of my stays. I thought the customer service was excellent and the free breakfast in the morning was great. While this is an older hotel and the rooms could be renovated, I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Abilene. In addition, it is conveniently located next to the mall and multiple eating establishments.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
782 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

There is a lot to like at this hotel, but the rooms are definitely in need of some renovations and upgrade to become more modern.
My bed felt over used and had a dip in the middle, but other than that i was happy.
I enjoyed the facilities including game room and table-tennis table/pool table etc
The breakfast was excellent also.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi H, Manager at MCM Elegante Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience at the MCM Elegante Suites. A person's comfort and stay is very important us. I am hoping that you will please contact me as to what room you stayed in so we can take care of the mattress situation. Unless a guest makes us aware of certain concerns we do not know. While there may be different needs that arise with everyone, a sagging mattress definitely requires our attention. Never hesitate to contact the Front Desk in your future stays as we are open 24 hours and we want your stay to be a pleasant one.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Most sincerely,
Kathi Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

There was so much wrong it's hard to know where to start.

We checked in and received our room keys. Our assigned room was one of the rooms you have to access from the outside of the building. We found our room and saw the door to our room was in the middle of a huge puddle.

After walking through the puddle (see pictures) and opening the door to our room we immediately knew it was a smokers room. We returned to the front desk and explained that we had reserved a non-smoking room and would like to be put in a non-smoking room. The front desk responded they were at capacity and had no non-smoking rooms available. We could try back later to see if there were any cancellations but we were stuck with the smokers room.

Resigned to having to stay in a smoking room because all the other hotels in the area were also sold out we returned to the room. After another walk through the puddle to get back into our room we noticed that if the room had been vacuumed it had not been vacuumed very well. We also noticed one of the bulbs in the ceiling fan was burnt out. We also discovered the WiFi signal we were using in the lobby while waiting to check in was too weak to connect to in our room. We scanned for another signal and had nothing. We had no WiFi available in our room.

We were in Abilene for a wedding and decided to shower, get dressed, and not let the crappy conditions at our expensive hotel get us down. Using the bathroom we discovered a whole new set of complaints. The water pressure in the shower was so low it was almost impossible to wash our hair. There was a vent cover for an exhaust fan but there was no fan and no exhaust other than leaving the bathroom doors open; yeah, that was pleasant. The paint on the bathroom ceiling was peeling, the hinges on the bathroom doors were incredibly rusty, and one of the bathroom door knobs was falling off.

After the wedding we returned to our room. The puddle was still there so we again had to walk through it to get into our room. We were tired and discovered that despite it reeking of cigarette smoke the bed was pretty comfortable and we slept well.

In the morning we headed out through the puddle in front of our door and inside to the restaurant for the 'Made to Order' breakfast that came with our stay. We soon learned 'Made to Order' meant something different than what we expected. Would you like bacon or no meat? Would you like scrambled eggs or no eggs? Would you like home fried potatoes or no potatoes? Whatever, we didn't have to go far for it and the scrambled eggs weren't the worst we've ever eaten.

After breakfast we headed back to our room. We had to cross through the puddle once again to get to our room. If you're tired of reading about the puddle imagine having to walk through it every time you want to enter or leave your room. While we were trying to shower, pack, and get out we noticed that a member of the housekeeping staff repeatedly came and peeped in through the window in our door to see if were were gone yet.

The room cost at the MCM Elegante Suites is very high for the area. We had read good reviews and were looking forward to our stay. We were severely disappointed with this hotel and will not book a room here again. Our advice is to stay away.

Room Tip: We were told the rooms you enter from inside the main hotel are better than the room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abilene hotels

Level Contributor
412 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The staff were helpful and pleasant. The room was large and comfortable. Everything was well maintained. The beds are super comfortable with a generous amount of pillows. The mini kitchen is a plus. The cookies and water left in the kitchen by the service staff was a nice touch. The pool was warm enough for comfort. The evening happy hour and full made to order breakfast were very enjoyable. A very nice stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank roxiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night here on a business trip & ate 3 meals there- all buffets. The hotel is an Embassy Suites style facility (maybe it used to be one?). Check in was fairly quick, rooms were clean but clearly not newly furbished. Thermostat in my room even set at 60 degrees never cooled down the room & hot water was more like really warm but not hot. Free drinks (limit of 4) in the evening during happy hour was a plus. Mexican buffet in the evening was really not good- breakfast buffet in morning was better. I told clerk at check out about room thermostat- she seemed unconcerned. Given a choice- not sure I would pay to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DKLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Abilene
6.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Elegante Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Suites

Property: MCM Elegante Suites
Address: 4250 Ridgemont Drive, Abilene, TX 79606 (Formerly Ambassador Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — MCM Elegante Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your MCM Elegante Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcm Elegante Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing