We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$.50 oysters! Need I say more?”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Ranked #48 of 197 Restaurants in Addison
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“$.50 oysters! Need I say more?”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ohhh this little sea food joint, was splendid!, so what sold me at first was their Sunday $50. oyster specials, but once we got there I ordered the fish tacos which were so good. This is a great little place to have a bite is not elegant as is more in the casual side. Is located in a nice area, where bars and other restaurants are located. All in all, this place was great, yummy sea food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hushpuppies, yay!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Happened upon this restaurant while checking out the grand opening of the newest Whole Foods Market in Addison. How lucky to have found Flying Fish! Casual atmosphere where you go to the counter and place your own order. We sat outside on picnic benches. Very pleasant staff, and they don't try to upsell you. The girl who took our order advised us that we could split the fish basket as it contained two pieces of fish. Because of this, we were able to try more things on the menu. I definitely recommend the fried okra and also the hushpuppies. There aren't many places that can get the hushpuppies crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Prices are very reasonable, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank undercoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relax, have fun and enjoy!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Luv luv this place for a casual night out with no frills but good food and a nice selection of beer and decent selection for wine.

Flying Fish is a place as soon as you walk up to it you know it is going to be fun. It has indoor eating but the best to me is the expansive outdoor eating. All the outdoor tables have large umbrellas over them and in the evening the entire outdoor area is in the shade so usually the slightest breeze really makes it feel comfortable and not hot.

When you walk in you go up to a cash register to put in your order. The menu is hand written just above your head so don't forget to look up. When your order is made they give you a "flasher/vibrator", your drinks and you just go find a table and wait for your flasher/vibrator to go.

This place is a really good place for groups or if you want to have a casual meeting. I recommend the shrimp poor boy and if you want it spicy tell them to "make it snappy". Also, make sure you have a look at the "Meow Mix Combos". The seafood is always good here.

Relax, have fun and enjoy!! OH, don't forget to have a look at all the mounted fish on the walls inside!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigIsKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
788 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Great breading”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Looking for some good fried seafood? This is the place.
Flying fish has some of the best breading around. It's never soggy & there's just the right amount so you can still taste what's under it. They could improve their fries but after eating your fried shrimp, catfish, or whatever & your delicious hush puppies the fries are the last thing on your mind.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch close to work”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is a resturant that is close to where I work. The food is good and the service is o.k. The room is nice. They have outdoor seating. It would be nice if they had more to choose from on the menue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing