We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in A sea Of East-West Valley Living”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“An Oasis in A sea Of East-West Valley Living”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you are a birder, you will love the apartments with a courtyard and garden in the center at the Alamo Inn Bed And Breakfast in Alamo, Tx. I arrived Jan. 1, 2014, and despite a colder than normal winter, there were plenty of lovely days and I did not have to turn the heat on since the insulation is good. The bed was king size and comfortable, the bathroom and kitchen clean, and the living room had plenty of comfortable chairs. All for about the same price it takes to rent a park model in the Valley, and they are colder. Keith was very hospitable as was his staff. I also noticed that people make friends at the apartments and come back year after year.

Room Tip: There are also rooms in the bed and breakfast building itself which I heard are also lovely. I had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
64
22
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

With its community room and fix-your-own lunch bag options, the Alamo Inn makes birding in the Valley a breeze. I've stayed there repeatedly for years, and now the little upgrades with shampoos, lotions, locally-made soaps make it all the more welcoming. For groups, Keith brings in Lynn, a sweet and helpful cook who makes terrific breakfasts, no matter what the hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Quaint, home away from home, clean, comfortable and uniquely decorated, the Alamo Inn is the place to stay when birding in the Rio Grande Valley. The inn-keeper and staff are the kindest and most accommodating that you will find anywhere! Thanks again Keith, Kerry, Lynn and John for another wonderful stay! I can't imagine staying anywhere else while birding in the valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you are heading to the Valley area - wait while we pack our bags - we're going with you! We know a great place to stay - the Alamo Inn Bed and Breakfast in Alamo , Texas. They have a great historic site (1920's Tex-Mex) with charming suites nestled within a comprehensive birding center - just minutes from McAllen Airport and the Santa Anna National Wildlife Refuge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent several days at the Alamo Inn in early March. It is an excellent place to stay in the Rio Grande Valley. It is clean, comfortable, well-priced (an excellent value), and is geared toward birders and people interested in the outdoors. Keith is knowledgeable about the area, and well-informed on the latest birding hotspots, so has excellent recommendations on where to go and what to look for. He also has good recommendations on local restaurants. The Inn's approach to food is unusual, and MUCH better than most places, as long as you are OK with a self-service approach. The dining area is stocked with abundant healthy and delicious choices including ripe fresh fruits, cereals, bread, sweet and/or salty snacks and sandwich fixings. You choose exactly what you want for breakfast, box lunches, and snacks, and keep track of what you take, and settle up when you leave. I love the honor system, and am glad that it seems to be sustainable, as it would be easy to take advantage of (or abuse). The rooms are very spacious - we stayed in suite 4, which has a bedroom and separate 'great room' with living, dining and a kitchenette. It is simple and basic, but more than adequate for us. Beds were comfortable but not luxurious, the bathroom was clean and well-appointed, and the towels were much better than most of the budget chain hotels in the area. The location is excellent, especially for birders, and it allows easy access to all the local hotspots. The style and amenities are a bit funky, and probably not for everyone, although it suits us very well, and we would recommend this to anyone who is not looking for a 4 or 5-star accommodation, or a cookie-cutter chain hotel. WiFi is available in the rooms, and generally worked well, if a little slow. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powersdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Alamo Inn is run by an excellent staff, most importantly Keith, who will make sure your every need is met while in the Valley area. There is a clean, comfortable room or house to meet your needs during your stay. Knowing that most likely you are a bird watching enthusiast, the Alamo Inn provides a well stocked refrigerator for those early mornings, for a nominal fee. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and very, very reasonably priced. The Alamo Inn is an excellent value for your stay in the Valley area of Texas. Be sure to book well in advance, as this gem books fast!

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a small refrigerator and microwave. Several have sleeper sofas or a roll aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXLady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have been staying at the Alamo Inn for upwards of 20 years as a birding tour leader and an individual guest. The level of service is always very high, guests are made to feel welcome from the moment they check in, and any need is attended to--be it a special breakfast item, emergency laundry, picnic lunches, directions to a desired bird, or providing a field guide from their well-stocked bookstore. I have pointed many friends there over the years and will continue to do so. Ask about other properties owned by the Inn for families requiring multiple rooms, or lodging with wheelchair access.

Room Tip: The most charming rooms are in the main building. Value seekers should ask about the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbehrstockHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alamo
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alamo - McAllen East
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Pharr
72 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pharr - Rio Grande Valley
6.5 mi away
Best Western Town Center Inn
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours

Property: Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours
Address: 801 Main St, Alamo, TX 78516-2560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Alamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging for birders and other travelers in clean comfortable suites furnished with antiques and run by a caring host who is a knowledgeable area birder. Facilities include self serve breakfast, meeting room, birding & outdoor store, working artist's studio, free WIFI, free guest computer, and other free extras including area bird and butterfly maps and check lists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Inn B&B, Gear & Tours Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing