We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Casa Santa Ana Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Santa Ana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alamo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

While there was a small mixup in our reservation, Judy made it all right, and we had a very enjoyable stay. The room and common area was comfortable and convenient, and the grounds were very well kept and secure. The location right next to Santa Ana NWR made the location excellent for birders and anyone who wanted to visit the refuge in the morning. We heard Pauraque from the grounds, plus saw many other species. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Man-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at Casa Santa Ana. It is right next to the Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge, about 7 miles outside of Alamo TX. Our hosts John and Judy McClung couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Our room was spacious. There was a common area with a laundry, dishwasher, refrigerator, TV, and coffee maker where we had breakfast. The fresh fruit was amazing. We had fresh berries and the sweetest mangos each morning. At 7:30AM John fills the feeding stations with seed, oranges and a suet mixture. We were treated to amazing birds: Altamira Oriole, Clay Colored Thrush, Kiskadee Flycatcher, Green Jay, and both the Ladder Backed Woodpecker and the Golden Fronted Woodpeckers as we ate breakfast.The McClung's seem to have anticipated our every need and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochesterRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Judy and John are most gracious inn-keepers! We came for a late spring migration birding and photography vacation. Our room was spotless, light and airy. The patio area was TEAMING with hummingbirds! Food selections are made the evening before; this works great for early risers who want to get out and go! The inn is within a 5 minute drive to the Santa Ana National Wildlife refuge and makes a terrific base-camp to explore areas of the Lower Rio-Grand valley.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigiscopingBirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Our trip to the Lower Rio Grande Valley was made so much better by our stop at Casa Santa Ana. John and Judy were great hosts with John having a wealth of information on local birding hot spots. Other birders staying there at the same time also guided us in our travel plans. Sitting our on the patio area in the evening and watching the buff-bellied hummingbirds come to the feeders capped a wonderful stay. So close to Santa Ana NWR, Estero Llano grande SP and Bentsen-Rio Grande Valley SP was another reason for our decision to stay here. Accomodations were perfect and our bed was a welcome sight at the end of a long day of birding.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brookfield MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We have visited Casa Santa Ana twice and could not have been happier either time. John and Judy are wonderful hosts, warm, friendly and very knowledgeable about the birding in the area. We love having breakfast waiting for us when we get up and sitting in the courtyard, listening to the night sounds is a great way to end the day. This is the perfect place for birders who want to visit many sites in the Rio Grande area easily. I wish all B&B's in birding areas were as wonderful as Casa Santa Ana.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank massbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest US
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Hosts John and Judy made us feel very comfortable. John actually took us out on a night time birding excursion in his SUV to see the nocturnal parauques. We saw many and learned about the area and about the birds. Since the b and b is close to the Santa Ana NWR, we went over there and saw a great number of birds, many of them lifers (birds we had never seen before.) We also saw many incredible life birds right on the grounds, which are beautifully kept with a nice trail and gardens. There is a courtyard area with hummingbird feeders and plentiful hummingbirds, all flying right by us. A beautiful koi pond finishes the picture making this a real oasis. Nice rooms and comfortable beds. Cozy living room and dining area and convenient (and delicious) breakfast for birders. I highly, highly recommend this place. It is quiet, private, has beautiful grounds, plentiful birds, is right by the preserve and the owners are nice and very informative and helpful, yet not intrusive. A+++

We'll be going back. Note: bring shampoo and conditioner and a hair dryer.

  • Liked — Great hosts, comfortable and beautiful lodging, great location for birding/wildlife, kitchen access
  • Disliked — no hairdryer or shampoo in room, just make sure to bring them with you.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas, TX
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2006

An ideal birdwatching site, with excellent rooms, lots of space, our own "private" birdwatching site in the woods next to our B&B, doing our own thing in the big kitchen/lounge area, peaceful and quiet, friendly hosts, went out of their way to take us out in their SUV late at night to see nocturnal species (great!!)--even sighted a bobcat. It's at the top of our list (there were 4 of us) for the BEST BIRDWATCHING ever, as well as ideal accommodations. Wish we could go back every year.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suegrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa Santa Ana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Ana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Santa Ana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3239 S Tower Rd, Alamo, TX 78516-9767
Region: United States > Texas > Alamo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alamo
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Ana Bed & Breakfast Alamo, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing